Hooking 2 amps up at once. - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-17-2003, 06:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,502
Hooking 2 amps up at once.

Say I wanna hook use 2 practice amps that obviously don't have a speaker out or anything. Is there any way to do this besides getting one of those Morley A/B switches, or a similar device. And are those A/B switches that hard to make yourself?
Jeff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-18-2003, 10:03 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Upstate N.Y.
Posts: 1,086
I played through two amps at once buy going through the "headphone" outputs.....
bob mclaughlin is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-18-2003, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,502
That would only give you one ouput though, wouldn't it? Because when you plug the "headphones out" from one into another, you're obviously muting the speaker with the headphone out.
Jeff is offline  
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-18-2003, 11:47 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 169
Just get a Y cable.
You can also get a 2 channel volume pedal and go back and forth between them. Or just a splitter box.
What are you trying to do exactly?? Play through both at the same time or go back and forth between the two?
Gearjunky is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-18-2003, 12:27 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,502
Play through both at the same time.

I'd actually like something where I can play more than 2. Would it be very hard to build a splitter box? I know an electronics student that may be able to help me build one.
Jeff is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-18-2003, 05:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 169
Very very easy. You can train your dog to build one. Just go to radio shack, get an empty box, however many 1/4 female jacks, a little wire, solder, and your done.
Gearjunky is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-18-2003, 10:04 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,502
That doesn't tell me much...is there some place on the net I can read about this stuff?
Jeff is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-18-2003, 10:58 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,989
Basically, unless you want switching, all you have to do is wire the one input 1/4-inch jack (from guitar) to the *however many* quarter inch jacks on the other side of the box.
Two hands31 is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-19-2003, 10:27 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 228
Of coarse youll be splitting the signal so each amp will be getting the equivelant of your guitar with the volume turned down significantly. Its something that is done for two amps but should never be done for more then 2.

At that point youd have to find a good buffer/splitter box that converts the guitar signal to a Low Impedance signal that can feed several amps without significant degredation and excesive noise. Theirs a few companies making these things, the most famouse is the Framptone Amp Switcher. That only works for 2 amps though. http://www.framptone.com/
People use two of those units to go to 3 amps though.

The market for multiple output splitter boxes is very small and specialized. Ive seen them but couldnt say who makes some off the top of my head.

Its also VERY common to run into grounding problems when your plugging into more then 1 amp. Its VERY common and requires a phase reversal switch or jumper on the splitter. Otherwise youll get a very loud buzzing on one or both amps.

Its something I do alot when Im recording. My favorite high gain sound right now is a Bogner XTC + Mesa Triaxis. Ive also done Marshall Plexi + Bogner, Plexi + Triaxis, Plexi + AC30, and mixed more then 2 fenders. Youll really like the effect. Try panning one hard left and the other hard right for a real cool effect.

I hope that helped. With 2 amps Id still say use a buffered spliter but a stereo Y cable can still work. Anything more and youll have to look into buffered spliters.
Dan D Mahnn is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-19-2003, 06:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,502
Ok...so when you go to the next big 80's hair band concert...with about 20 marshall stacks sittin in the back...how do they wire the guitar up to all of those?
Jeff is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-19-2003, 06:33 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: A Mile High (USA)
Posts: 2,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEMavenger
Ok...so when you go to the next big 80's hair band concert...with about 20 marshall stacks sittin in the back...how do they wire the guitar up to all of those?

They don't. One cab wet, one cab dry, the rest "dummies". Just for show...
vaijem777 is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-19-2003, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,502
What do you mean "one cab wet, one cab dry"...
Jeff is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-19-2003, 09:16 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Posts: 1,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEMavenger
What do you mean "one cab wet, one cab dry"...
The wet cab has effects on it, the dry cab has no effects.

--B
bduersch is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-19-2003, 09:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,502
What is the point of that?
Jeff is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-20-2003, 12:00 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 554
The point of the wet/dry trick is to keep your punchy, dry tone intact through one cabinet and still get your effects through the other.
jeff l is offline  
Reply

Tags
amp tone , mesa triaxis , power amp , power amps , practice amp , van halen , volume pedal , whammy pedal

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blackstar Amps unveil HT-5 Amps at MusikMesse Milo Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 5 04-06-2011 09:57 PM
Need advice - rack mount amps -normal amps ? Jaden Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 7 10-20-2008 07:40 AM
hooking up 6 pcs to a broadband connection John Finn Off-topic / Miscellaneous 4 02-17-2006 11:49 AM
need help hooking up studio gear guitarshredder7 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 10-25-2005 01:18 AM
i need some help.''hooking up effects pedals? flo Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 06-28-2005 09:07 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome