how to attain power tube saturation with a preamp and power amp? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-06-2010, 08:25 PM Thread Starter

how to attain power tube saturation with a preamp and power amp?

i have a tube preamp with a master volume and a power amp with a level knob.

should i crank the master volume to get power tube distortion or the level knob on my power amp?

-Henry
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-06-2010, 08:56 PM

Re: how to attain power tube saturation with a preamp and power amp?

What king of pre-amp & power amp are you running? You should be able to run the preamp with a good hot(almost cliping) signal. Presence should help, are you running a distortion pedal in front? That my help to boost a max. output. There are few different ways , depends what you have to work with. JJ tubes(eurotube) are my fav. for high gain.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-06-2010, 10:13 PM Thread Starter

im using a lee jackson GP-1000 into a peavey 50/50. no pedals in front, but i do have a couple overdrive pedals in my storage lol. whats the best way to get that saturation?
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-06-2010, 11:07 PM

The only way to really get it is to turn it up and make the power tubes work. You could throw an attenuator in there, but I had a THD Hot Plate with my Marshall 1959 SLP and the attenuator did keep the volume down, but it sucked all the life out of the amp and made it sound thin.

Putting a pedal infront of the preamp will just boost the signal going into the amp and make the preamp tubes work harder, it will not give you power amp saturation.
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-06-2010, 11:19 PM Thread Starter

which do i turn up though? the master volume or the power amp's volume knob?

or both? idk lol
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-06-2010, 11:27 PM