How do i create master in Cubase sx - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-23-2003, 06:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 161
How do i create master in Cubase sx

how do you make a ,master or DAT copy in cubase sx, im getting one of my songs put on a compilation record but they asked for the above , but i`ve never had to make a master or dat before in cubase? how do you go about it?
thanks
john
FinnJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-23-2003, 10:57 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 401
Mastering is the final step in the process of recording a song. It usually involves compression, limiting, and eqing to the stereo mix.

I don't use Cubase, but what you need to do is bounce your multitrack recording to a stereo WAV or AIFF file. Professional mastering is a very difficult & expensive process, but you can do a decent job with some software plugins or all in one units like the TC finalizer.

DAT is the medium in which they're asking you to deliever the song. This will require a DAT machine that records the stereo outs of your soundcard onto a DAT tape. If you don't have a DAT deck, I would ask the record company if it is okay for you to deliever your master on CD-R. If you would like help with mastering, email me and I might be able to give you a hand.
Soup Kitchen Studios is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-24-2003, 07:48 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 374
What Dave said. Just so you know though, DAT is Digital Audio Tape.

If there is no bounce option in Cubase, route all your outputs to a stereo (internal) bus and hit record.

Cheers
Pat
30yroldpig is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-27-2003, 09:57 AM
rfb
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 40
There used to be an "export audio" button on the master mixer, in VST, which folowed all your mix automation, mixed down your VSTis, etc, not in real time - handy because it (can be) quicker than running off a mix once you've got everything right, and you can run all the fx and VSTis you want without overloading your machine; it just takes as long as it takes.

I'd be amazed if this weren't still available somewhere in SX, but I'm using VST still so can't say for sure.

- rfb
rfb is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-27-2003, 03:15 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 44
The export audio function in VST is just a quick 'bounce' to a stereo track including all effects. You still need to run that final mix through some sort of mastering unit to get a pro result in my opinion. I'm waiting for a TC electronics finalizer to appear on ebay for my mastering requirements. A cheap option is the Behringer Ultramizer if you can find one (i think they've stopped producing them now). It depends on how fussy you are at the end of the day.
Ant711UK is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-27-2003, 03:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 401
Multiband compressor plugins from companys like Waves and T Racks can be just as effective as their hardware based counterparts. None of these plugins or the hardware that you mentioned are considered "pro" mastering gear. That equipment can run 3k-4k for a single peice of gear.
Soup Kitchen Studios is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-27-2003, 08:25 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Swift
Multiband compressor plugins from companys like Waves and T Racks can be just as effective as their hardware based counterparts. None of these plugins or the hardware that you mentioned are considered "pro" mastering gear. That equipment can run 3k-4k for a single peice of gear.
True but these plug-ins depend on system performance. If you have a weak system, you can easly choke it.
30yroldpig is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-27-2003, 09:22 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 401
Not really. You don't have to run these plugins in real time when you're mastering. So it might take a long time to process if you haven't bought a computer in the last three years (in which case you should anyway..) but it will still work.
Soup Kitchen Studios is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-12-2003, 06:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 161
For the album im submitting to a wav file on a disk will do, thanks for all the help
FinnJ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me create a pickguard for a 7620? pera_a777 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 01-21-2007 07:53 PM
Cant' create MP3 or WAV with FL Studio caprile Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 02-24-2006 01:37 PM
Create a Caption! Jeff Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! 14 09-01-2003 12:27 PM
Can someone create a computer jem for me? davester1234 Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 38 08-31-2002 02:11 AM
BR8 to Cubase - Having trouble recording BR8 to Cubase MikeyJ Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 02-28-2002 07:01 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome