how do I rig 2 preamps to one power amp? - Mark IV head and - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-10-2001, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 417
how do I rig 2 preamps to one power amp? - Mark IV head and

Im thinking about buying a Pod Pro rack unit, and have the Mark IV head.
So, I also have the Rolls switcher at my disposal as well.
What I want to do, is to come up with a way to A/B the preamps and run them both thru the power section of the Mark IV.
Is this possible, or do I need other gear, like another power amp?
I only have one cab, so that's why Im asking this.
Current gear list
-Mark IV
-A/B switch
-Rolls Patchworks
I'll keep it simple for now
tomizm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-10-2001, 10:57 PM
rgr
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 1,882
how do I rig 2 preamps to one power amp?

Take the effects send signal from the Mark IV and run it into one side of the A/B switch and the POD Pro into the other. *Then send the signal from the A/B to the effects return and set the volume levels appropriately. *I assume that you are running the POD mono since you are only using one power amp. *
rgr is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-11-2001, 12:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 417
how do I rig 2 preamps to one power amp?

Cool. *That's kinda what I thought, but can't actually try it out, and didnt know if it would work like that.
I guess I was just looking for a second opinion.
Thanx!

What a pain though, to have to run 2 cables from the rig to my floorboard, then one back to the rig.
Lots of cables everywhere.
tomizm is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-12-2001, 02:38 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 284
how do I rig 2 preamps to one power amp?

what is a good switcher to get to do this? *i want something nice that will go in my rack. *i thought about the gcx, but they only allow mono, and i am of the opinion that using both outs on my triaxis and jmp-1 is the better sonic idea -- please correct me if im wrong.
shawn is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-12-2001, 11:42 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 190
how do I rig 2 preamps to one power amp?

Tom,

If you can find an a/b box which will switch remotely (or simply wire a cable in place of the existing switch) you can use the Patchwork to select the active preamp.

Additionally, you can plug your guitar into the Patchwork input, plut the Patchwork main out into the power amp and then place your preamps in two of the loops.

If you do this, however, you lose the ability to switch effects in between the amps. *To make this work most effectivly would require two Patchwork units.

Shawn,

I'm not positive, but I think the loops on the RFX Patchwork box are TRS-jacks and allow for stereo loops by using an insert cable (just like with the Pod Pro and Flextone HD stereo loops)
ryan is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-12-2001, 07:46 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
how do I rig 2 preamps to one power amp?

Hey Ryan,

You can still share effects if you add a rack mixer to the system. *Plus, this lets you run several effects units in parallel if you wish. *I am planning on using a setup like this (GCX + MixPlus mixer) to switch between Legacy preamp and TriAxis all into the same power amp.

bill
bill h is offline  
Reply

Tags
pod pro , power amp

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can someone explain preamps/tubes/power ratings to me?!... rickybaby1985 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 12 12-28-2011 05:38 PM
WTT Mark tremonti power wah or bad horsie 2 chingchongJEMJS Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 08-27-2009 11:10 AM
alright...amp question - preamps & power amp stuff... yoni162 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 03-11-2002 06:51 AM
Tube preamps and power amp troubles - (to stereo or not to s reguv760 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 11-17-2001 07:52 PM
Power supplies, preamps and power amps - whats the more idea tomizm Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 04-11-2001 06:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome