How should I mic my amp? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-18-2006, 01:35 AM Thread Starter

How should I mic my amp?

I have a Digitech Workstation and I am not very happy with the recording quality through the USB. I would really like to start recording my 2x12 combo amp through a mic. I only have one mic input on my workstation. Would one mic do it? Or would I need 2 for better sound quality? And how would I get the mics into my computer through USB? I'm really new to this so I don't know what kind of mic to buy. What are some good mics?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-18-2006, 02:43 AM
Dee

Re: How should I mic my amp?

Just 1 mic. A Shure SM57 about 5 inches away from the speaker. Experiment with positioning until you're happy. Buy a good soundcard to capture the signal into your PC.

If all else fails, buy a Behringer V-Amp Pro and save your amp for live use.

Last edited by Dee; 06-18-2006 at 02:50 AM.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-18-2006, 12:38 PM Thread Starter

I have an Creative Audigy 2 ZS as my souncard. Do I need something like an inbox to get the mic connected to the soundcard? Or can I just use the mic input on my workstation, which is connected to the computer through a USB port? And what are other mics I should consider?
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-20-2006, 05:55 PM

Dude, that's like asking "I have an electric guita,r and it's just not cutting it unplugged. How should I amplify it?"

There's nearly an infinite number of ways to get a guitar on tape. An old standby is a SM57 right up against the grille, but even then a mm or two in either direction can drastically change the sound.