How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-11-2005, 06:22 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 542
How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

I am getting a mesa Mk IV and i was wondering how you set it up..i am thinking the clean on R1 and my distorted Rhythm on the lead channel so i get more gain ...( I am wanting a almost duel rec high gain sound) and having my R2 as my lead tone with a ds- 1 in front of it...yeah..i was wondering if anyone has it set differently....( most likely )


and how much gain can be pushed out of The R2 channel...?

And...How do you people get a Solo boost out of one ?

Thanks so much

Shep...
Shep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-11-2005, 11:17 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 150
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

Throw out the DS-1, the Mark IV has way more than enough gain and a much better tone than a 40 dollar distortion pedal. Awesome choice, its one of my favourite amps. If you want a solo boost, get an EQ pedal, Tube Screamer or a Keeley Modded SD-1.
ElectriK is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-11-2005, 11:18 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posts: 312
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

I'm extremely jealous of you. The Mesa MkIV is possibly my favourite amp ever. I would love to own one.
maliciousteve is offline  
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-11-2005, 07:36 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Posts: 1,357
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

When I had my Mark IV (sigh) I had cleans on R1, crunch on R2, heavy rhythm on LD. Then I would use the EQ for a solo bost... go with the basic Mesa "scoop" that's shown in the manual, but bring up the center frequency, which boosts the volume/presence considerably.

--B
bduersch is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-12-2005, 01:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 542
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

cool.

this is great..anyone else...
Shep is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-12-2005, 01:30 AM
 
megadeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,221
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

i am getting a triaxis. apparently, it has mark IV too.
is it different than actual mark IV ?
megadeth is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-12-2005, 08:15 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 542
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

the triaxis is a pre amp that can hav any sound by mesa including the mk iv but you need a power amp to run the triaxis unlike the mk iv...
Shep is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-12-2005, 08:49 AM
 
megadeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,221
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

^^
i am getting 2:90.
megadeth is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-12-2005, 09:23 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 542
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

so wat is your question again..?
Shep is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-12-2005, 10:48 AM
 
megadeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,221
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

is triaxis a good substitute to get REAL sound of recto and mark IV ?
megadeth is offline  
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-12-2005, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 542
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

well..yeah...the only thing is you need all the midi boards to run it ....
Shep is offline  
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-13-2005, 06:14 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 542
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

how r some other idea about boosting it for a solo..
Shep is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-13-2005, 08:22 AM
 
megadeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,221
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

check out www.grailtone.com
megadeth is offline  
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-13-2005, 10:39 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: California
Posts: 1,895
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

Decide if you want a gain boost for solos or a volume boost. Any stomp box before the amp will be a gain/sustain boost, but not really give you much of a volume boost if you're already overdriving the preamp hard. If you want the same overdrive amount only louder and more up front, then you need the EQ, either the one on the amp or a pedal in the loop. Once you figure that out, it will narrow down the suggestions a bit. I for one would have both the SD-1 in front of the amp, and the EQ pedal in the loop. That's probably because I like the MK IV with the amp's EQ on most of the time. The tone knobs do too much pre-gain altering to be used to really shape the sound.
frankfalbo is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-14-2005, 11:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 542
Re: How would you setup a Mesa MK IV....?

Thanks
yeah thats wat i was thinking aobut the volume booster after the pre amp ( fx loop )....thabks for grailtone to it's a great site....
Shep is offline  
Reply

Tags
distortion pedal , keeley mod , power amp , stomp box , vintage strat

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with my Mesa Studio Preamp Setup Divinewingsoftragedy Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 1 03-23-2008 04:19 PM
Mesa F-30 vs. Mesa F-50 vs. Mesa Nomad 55 combo xPrestigeRGAx Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 6 08-15-2007 08:15 PM
Real Mesa VS. Fake Mesa - Or Mesa VS. Crate really... ChrisReedSmith Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 17 09-20-2006 06:29 PM
Setup problems with my DBK...good price for a quality setup? Guitarlos2 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 07-10-2003 02:39 PM
EMG-ZW setup... 'Zakk Wylde's' setup. WHos got em? DrPuls Pickups & wiring 5 11-25-2002 07:17 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome