I hate using drummers... - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2011, 09:51 PM Thread Starter

Reviews: 2
Angry I hate using drummers...

As the title suggests, i absolutely hate recording drums for my compositions, especially for my school music assignments. Everything seems to go wrong and the recording process is lengthy. does anyone suggest how to record drums without using drums or a drummer? i use reaper at home, would a midi controller work if i download something like EZ Drummer? i have never used one before, is it hard to record metal drums with something like a korg nanopad? I am pretty inexperienced at home recording as you can probably tell already . Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2011, 10:00 PM

Reviews: 18
Re: I hate using drummers...

EZ Drummer (as the title suggests) is pretty simple to use. It has a feature that (if your DAW allows it to) allows the user to drag and drop grooves onto the track and do whatever you'd like with it (duplicate it, extend it, slow it down, etc.)

I hope this helps

Jimmy
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2011, 10:02 PM Thread Starter

hmmm, but in order to create the "groove" do i need a midi controller of somesort? i dont really like using preset drumloops....
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2011, 10:32 PM

Reviews: 18

I think it comes with its own midi application. If you're talking about triggering the commands with a controller, I'm not quite sure, as that is new territory for me as well.

This thread may be a reference point:

http://www.toontrack.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=31858

And this may be an option for you to obtain in addition to EZ Drummer:

http://www.toontrack.com/products.asp?item=27

Jimmy
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-2011, 11:10 PM Thread Starter

Thanks Jimmy, that is really helpful