I want to build an amp cabinet - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-01-2011, 11:28 PM Thread Starter

Reviews: 13
Smile I want to build an amp cabinet

I want to build an amp cabinet. I want to do this on a budget as well. I want to gear it towards my Line 6 HD500. It has MIDI output (L & R) and I can also use the standard 1/4 inch jack as well. I'm still learning this pedal, but for now, I'd like to have the option to use either MIDI or 1/4 jack for L/R.

I need to know what tools I will need (or need access to) and I'd also like to know what kind of would I should use. I'm in the market for some nice speakers (not overly expensive) and some nice wood.

I have never done this, but I want to do it so bad. To give you an idea, I'm a husband and father of 2 and they come first, so I can only do this a piece at a time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2011, 12:38 AM

Re: I want to build an amp cabinet

Most high quality amp and speaker cabs are built from Marine grade baltic birch plywood.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2011, 01:15 AM
Banned

Reviews: 64

A cab is just a box of wood so I don't see any kind of difficult about making one.
No matter what kind of BS companies say, the majority of cabs are made with cheap wood.
I made 2 ADA(stereo) copy cabs around 1995, I copied its dimensions from a magazine, cut its parts, glued and some screws to keep everything in place.They looked exactly like the original.
The only difficult was my parents telling me to turn the volume down all the time

Tools?
You don't know what tools you need to make a box?!
You need to cut, drill some screw holes and glue.
Plus things like a grill, feet and those things to carry it(I don't know their name in english).

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2011, 01:52 AM
Banned

Reviews: 98