Inexpensive practice rig - AX3G, RP100A or G2? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-2006, 02:49 PM Thread Starter

Inexpensive practice rig - AX3G, RP100A or G2?

Hi everybody -

Looking to pick up something for lat night practicing thru pc speakers or headphones. Want to keep it under $100 if possible. Looking at the following:
Korg AX3G
Zoom G2
Digitech RP100A

Which would you go for?

Thanks

Jeff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-2006, 02:56 PM

Re: Inexpensive practice rig - AX3G, RP100A or G2?

I like the G2, but I didn't compare it to those others, so maybe that's a small data point.

Also consider the Behringer X-Vamp - it's at the $70 level, and has an expression pedal. I have no experience with it, but I have a V-Amp2, which is a great $100 unit - and also worthy of consideration.

I'm not helping much, am I?
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-2006, 03:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JESTER700 View Post
I like the G2, but I didn't compare it to those others, so maybe that's a small data point.

Also consider the Behringer X-Vamp - it's at the $70 level, and has an expression pedal. I have no experience with it, but I have a V-Amp2, which is a great $100 unit - and also worthy of consideration.

I'm not helping much, am I?

x2 on the Vamp2
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-2006, 05:56 PM
rgr

For headphone practicing you'll want something with built in drum tracks. Don't know much about any of those units, I have a Pandora that I bought as a demo for around $100, it's okay, glad I didn't pay $200 for it.
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-2006, 06:08 PM

I suggest you get the Korg Pandora PX4D ($170 new). It has 100 rhythm and bass patterns if that is what your looking for in a small package. Just my 2cents!
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-2006, 06:23 PM