Ive got my studio planned, need "proof readers" - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 11:42 PM Thread Starter
Gex

Ive got my studio planned, need "proof readers"

Alright.

This is what I have planned for my studio, so I can start recording. I need to know if this will work (well) before I drop some cash on it.

Microphones (Shure SM57's, ect)

Plugged into:
Audio Centron AC-116 16-channel mixer:

And that piped into:

M-Audio Firewire Interface 410
http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_u...e410-main.html

Into:

New PC or Mac (still haven't decided) with firewire port, loads of memory and harddrive space, and a good soundcard.

Does that cover it? Im a recording noob.

I just want to make sure that this will all work well, so I'm asking you to check over it and make sure that its all in-order. If you see for forsee any problems, let me know!

Thanks for the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-15-2006, 02:36 AM

Re: Ive got my studio planned, need "proof readers"

Don't expect that mixer into a firewire card to give you 16 input devices on the computer. If that's what you're wanting to do, it isn't going to work. If you're wanting to do all your mixing through the mixer into a stereo input on the computer, then you can do that without the mixer.
I'm not knowledgable with that mixer, though, so I'm only assuming that it only has stereo output.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-15-2006, 10:25 AM

Reviews: 2

What is your goals and budget with this new studio? DO you want to track 16 different inputs at the same time or are you just planning on recording yourself? There are other much better options depending on what you want to spend. WHat recording software do you want to use? check out www.sweetwater.com for different options.
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-15-2006, 11:35 AM