just a dumb question..... - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-01-2003, 07:33 PM Thread Starter

Reviews: 1
just a dumb question.....

ok...keep in mind that i am not a techie when it comes to amps but i have a question regarding my marshall avt50 combo. I posted a little while ago about changing the preamp tube to kinda smooth out the distortion a little and get a little more saturation. Well, 2 weeks later and my amp sounds like a completely new beast! I havent done anything to it or the guitar and more people than just myself have commented on my amps sound. I haven't even touched the knobs. its very rich and smooth now and twice as warm as when i took it out of the box. Is there is a "breaking in" period when it comes to these things?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-02-2003, 01:58 PM

Two things...

1.) Spingfield mass... You don't by any chance mean SpRingfield, do you? that's like a half hour/forty-five drive from me when i'm home (Adams, it's between pittsfield and williamstown, if that helps).

2.) Tube amps are INCREDIBLY fickle. They definately do sound inconsistant from day to day... Howver, we're only talking about a single preamp tube, and while tube amps do vary a bit, they're not usually RADICALLY different. Yoiur "breaking in" hypothesis, while i've heard nothing else that could support it about other amps, might be right. Other possibilities- did you change your guitar in any manner- pickup height, etc? how about the cable? And is it plugged into the same outet?

Anyway, can't argue with good tone.

-Drew
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-03-2003, 01:43 PM

Hmmmm, half an hour ago I was thinking to myself that the tone of this thing is actually excellent.