Line on for 5150? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-04-2011, 04:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: canada
Posts: 47
Line on for 5150?

line "in" on 5150, sry made mistake on title

Hey, i dont have a line in or pre-amp out option on my peavy 5150 2x 12" so do i have to mic it instead of directly plugging into a mixer? only options i have is effects out n return, external speakers.. i check a online manual and all it mentioned was the pre-amp out to use for mixers and such but thats not on my model. thanks
beckthevai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-04-2011, 09:12 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 188
Reviews: 1
Re: Line on for 5150?

You can use the effects send (out). That's before the poweramp stage.
leec is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-05-2011, 01:08 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Athens GA
Posts: 941
Re: Line on for 5150?

If you want it to sound like poo, sure gp straight for the mixer. But you really should mic a guitar amp, that is about half the sound, that speaker MOVING AIR.
Come on guys, quit being so lazy.
musikron is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-07-2011, 08:46 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 188
Reviews: 1
Re: Line on for 5150?

Er...it's not laziness (absolutely no idea why you think it's laziness...). Some people can't mic up an amp because the volume needs to be much louder than they can get away with (not everyone lives in the middle of nowhere). Many people use the pre-amp out/effects send of their amp and run it into their computer, and then use poweramp and cabinet simulation (impulse files).
leec is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-07-2011, 01:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: canada
Posts: 47
Re: Line on for 5150?

yea the effect send itself works without the return. going to use it and mic both speaker. it sounds better just mic'n the speakers tho, brighter
beckthevai is offline  
Reply

Tags
line in , peavy 5150 , recording

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS UK Peavey 5150 mk1 block EVH head + 5150 4x12 cab DJR Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 08-24-2009 01:31 PM
WTT Line 6 vetta for Peavey 5150 combo - UK only weseastham Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 07-26-2005 10:11 AM
wtb : peavey 5150, 5150 II or xxx j.arledge Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 4 02-13-2005 07:03 PM
Line 6 POD/ Peavy 5150 setup tips Jupiter Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 18 10-30-2002 08:31 AM
5150 setup - making the 5150 half sound more like Vai Allen Lee Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 02-28-2001 04:58 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome