Line 6 Flextone ll or lll ? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-27-2004, 09:31 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 198
Line 6 Flextone ll or lll ?

which one is better? pros and cons?
Ibanezer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-27-2004, 11:19 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,989
I own a Flextone II and it sounds great. No complaints (other than a faulty headphone jack, but that's my fault for not bothering to get it fixed).

I've heard good and bad things about the Flextone III.

If you can, try them both out and just buy which ever one you like best.
Two hands31 is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-27-2004, 11:35 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 198
unfortunately im unable to try the Flextone ll
i tried the lll and love it.
just wanna compare those two and see which one should i get.

also... i know that we can use the tones from POD on the lll.
how about the GuitarPort tones on the lll?
i've got some killer settings on GuitarPort, if the lll can use tones, im going to get a lll
Ibanezer is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-28-2004, 12:23 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,989
Which POD? PODxt works with the Flextone III (yes?)

I'm not really sure about the GuitarPort.

But the POD 2.0 and Flextone II can swap settings easily.


And whatever you get, definitely definitely definitely get the floorboard.
Two hands31 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-28-2004, 01:56 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 198
yer i think its the PODxt works with flextone lll
the floorboard... is it that important? why?
Ibanezer is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-28-2004, 07:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Swansea, Wales
Posts: 61
i've tried out both amps and i own a flexitone III simple reason the sound is practically the same sound but the flexitone III has aload more stuff on it. I'd say if your gonna choose between both i'd get the flexitone III hey i might be selling mine it has the FBV floorrboard with it if your intrested contact me.

DAIVAI
DaiVai is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-28-2004, 10:37 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,989
The floorboard is important because:

Access to 36 Presets on Flextone
Dedicated, hands-free channel switches
Dedicated reverb and FX loop On/Off switches
Large name display
Wah / Volume pedal with toe switch On/Off
Expression pedal input for separate Volume control
Chromatic tuner
Program Patch Naming
Powered by the Flextone

You only get 4 presets without the floorboard, and the rest of these features are completely unavailable without the floorboard.
Two hands31 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-28-2004, 03:45 PM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Belgium , Hidden away Somewhere
Posts: 161
I got both flextone II (XL) and III ...
I would flat out say flextone II ...
Simply for all he sound , flextone III aint got distorsion so the only distorsion you get is from your pickups or a pedal ...
The flex II is im my opinion simply better build than the III ...


I would choose it over III at any time ...

Thats my 2 euros ...

Nick
not2secure4u is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-31-2004, 03:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Illinoize!!
Posts: 1,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by not2secure4u
I got both flextone II (XL) and III ...
I would flat out say flextone II ...
Simply for all he sound , flextone III aint got distorsion so the only distorsion you get is from your pickups or a pedal ...
The flex II is im my opinion simply better build than the III ...


I would choose it over III at any time ...

Thats my 2 euros ...

Nick
You must have missed the gain dial. The III can do a lot of heavy tones.
Polaris20 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-02-2004, 10:29 AM
 
Jason Stone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New York City
Posts: 401
I have both a Flex II and a Flex III. I recommend the Flex III, especially after the update that came out a few months ago. To my ears, the III sounds much better than the II.

not2secure is correct that the III does not have a separate boost function, but you can just put an overdrive pedal in front of it if you really need that much gain. Besides, some of the new models in the Flex III already have insane amounts of gain.
Jason Stone is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-02-2004, 05:43 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Stone
I recommend the Flex III, especially after the update that came out a few months ago.
how do you update the Flextone lll? do you download the software and then connect the amp to the computer? or?
Ibanezer is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-03-2004, 03:25 AM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Belgium , Hidden away Somewhere
Posts: 161
Cool what update ?
I Slightly prefer FLex II ...
Don't know why ...
Appearantly III is as good as II


Nick
not2secure4u is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-03-2004, 04:23 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 1,813
he's refering to the new update they have made to the firmware chips inside the amps. They have reworked the amps and pedals and such a bit to make them sound better. With the original Flextone and Flextone II series you had to call Line6 and have them send you a new, ESR (something like that) firmware chip. The new XT and XT Pro you can do with USB, no idea about the Flextone III. Call Line6 and ask, the upgraded firmware chips are free. Free everything! Free shipping, free chip, free amount of chips if you happen to mess up or whatever!
RSVampire is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-03-2004, 10:59 AM
 
Jason Stone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New York City
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibanezer
how do you update the Flextone lll? do you download the software and then connect the amp to the computer? or?
You can update the Flex III using standard midi cables and your computer. I used a USB midi adapter. You do not need to send away for a new chip. In any event, if you buy a new one, it should have the new software already installed.
Jason Stone is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-06-2004, 05:51 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 198
because i want to buy a used III and update it
Ibanezer is offline  
Reply

Tags
expression pedal , flextone iii , overdrive pedal , volume pedal

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Line 6 Flextone II seahawk2982 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 20 06-18-2009 01:36 PM
Line 6 Flextone XL Hamer098 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 7 05-19-2009 01:19 AM
FS Line 6 flextone II Ibanut Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 06-10-2007 11:52 AM
Line 6 Flextone II XL Kipperfetish Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 1 03-29-2005 01:47 PM
Line 6 Flextone III XL? Onizuka Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 01-24-2005 02:34 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome