locking nut with fixed bridge? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-07-2003, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
 
zEr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,244
locking nut with fixed bridge?

A friend of mine showed me a guitar he had assembled which had a fixed bridge and a locking nut. I was kind of surprised but he told me that before he installed the locking nut, the guitar went out of tune very often and that installing it solved the problem almost completely. My guitar has a fixed bridge and it also goes out of tune quite often. ANy of you recommends this option as an alternative to replacing the bridge and/or tuning heads? THX for the help.
zEr0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-07-2003, 06:11 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 401
The problem with a fixed bridge and a locking nut is when you lock the pads down on the nut, it can cause the guitar to go out of tune. Without the fine tuners on the floyd, you'd have no way to adjust the tuning without unlocking and doing a guess and check type of thing.

For my money, installing some locking tuners would be a much more effective solution.
Soup Kitchen Studios is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-07-2003, 07:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 520
I'd say locking tuners and a graphtec nut.
Kremlin is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-07-2003, 07:13 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Richmond, Kentucky
Posts: 3,339
Agreed. The only guitar Id put a locking nut only on is some ghetto guitar, and then only a kahler style nut
sniperfrommars1 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-08-2003, 03:22 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Around Boston MA
Posts: 522
If your playing a "ghetto" guitar, then you deserve having it go out of tune so us non-ghetto guitarists have something against you.


hahaha...im just kidding..besides, I dont even understand what I said...
ChrisReedSmith is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-09-2003, 03:30 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sk, Canada
Posts: 352
I bought a Graphtech nut and planet waves locking tuners, which did wonders for my tuning.

Exactly like the fellow mentioned above, when u tighten the pressure pads, the strings go up in pitch.

Tell your friend he's a boob if he thinks thats an ingenious decision.

Itd be nice if more guitars came with a "JS2000" style bridge which as we all know is a fixed bridge with fine tuners on the back.
gemini8026 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-09-2003, 05:58 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nr. Liverpool, UK
Posts: 868
The strings may not change pitch, it depends on how well routed through the nut they are. If you have a string retaining bar that is well adjusted (as I do on my 550) the strings are heald down against the grooves in the nut, and thus when the allen bolts ar tightened it cannot go out of tune. The only reason guitars go out of tune when they are "locked up" is because the string was not bedded into the groove in the nut properly and thus is tensioned by the action of tightening the allen bolt.
-better shred than dead- ANDY
Jammy is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-09-2003, 07:35 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 128
I agree with Jammy. My UV doesn't need a string retaining bar - it doesn't change pitch when I tighten the locking nuts (well...technically, it probably does to a tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny degree)

You can't hear any change - trust me, I have perfect pitch.
bryangraye is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-09-2003, 12:14 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,566
Just tightening the pads is what usually screws the tuning as they twist with the bolt.

I've never seen a UV that would stay in tune w/o the string retainer adjusted correctly, much less missing it.
Rich is offline  
Reply

Tags
fixed bridge , locking nut , locking nuts , locking tuners , planet waves , planet waves locking tuners , retaining bar , string retaining bar

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locking Nut to Fixed Conversion - Is this possible? wandereruk05 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 09-13-2010 07:39 AM
fixed bridge on a floating bridge ibanez..questions Ki swordsman Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 15 10-17-2005 07:43 PM
fixed bridge locking nut rg - please make one mmr7 Comments to Ibanez 10 02-17-2002 06:15 PM
RG fixed bridge?!?!? - I know You're "*the* locking trem com jono Comments to Ibanez 7 07-20-2001 09:28 PM
Sperzel locking tuners & non-locking nut - for a fixed bridg jemsite Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 9 03-22-2001 10:51 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome