Looking for a New Amp and would like some help - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 07-29-2007, 08:46 PM Thread Starter

Looking for a New Amp and would like some help

Hey guys. For the past few months, i've been searching for a new amp to upgrade from my MG10cd (i don't need to say that it's bad). I've played a bunch of amps, and apparently have progressed extremely well for being self taught for 8 months, and taking lesson for the past 2. So, seeing as how i despise my amp and wish to upgrade (plus the fact i feel it's holding me back tone - wise), i've been looking at some amps to upgrade to. I've been researching some amps, and want to try some, but i'd really love it if some of you guys (who've been playing a lot longer than me, and know more) could give me some suggestions for amps to try out.

My style - I play a lot of different kinds of rock, hard rock, and metal (especially metal), with a bit of blues - rock. My guitar is an RG321MH (completely stock).

What I'm looking for in an amp:

Cleans - Nothing super duper clean. Some breakup would be alright. So long as the clean's got some meat to it, i'm happy.

Distortion - Something that's between Death, Mastodon, Dream Theater, and Paul Gilbert as far as chunky-ness and definition. Something that can get really heavy, without being muddy.

Budget: Anything up to $900. It doesn't matter if the amp is new or used, so long as it's in working condition and sounds killer. it also needs to be a COMBO (no heads please). I don't have the space, nor need for the power, of a head

Now, as i mentioned before, I've researched some amps to try out, and i'm looking for suggestions, but here are the amps that i've been considering:

- Marshall JCM 900 Hi Gain Dual Reverb combo
- Mesa Boogie Rectoverb combo
- Peavey XXX combo
- Peavey 5150 combo