Marshall JCM 800 - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 10:33 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 2,244
Marshall JCM 800

Hey my JCM 800 sounds a bit noisy in the effects loop, like a hissing sound when i put my delay in, and the delay is fine, not noisy at all on my JCM 900. The JCM 800 doesnt have an effects loop level control for some reason. Are the 800s usually noisy in the loop or is this just mine?
Ant1981 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 09:05 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 542
Re: Marshall JCM 800

is it the reiusse because my reiusse is more than fine and is quite as a mouse...do you have both tabs pushed in?
Shep is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-20-2005, 06:56 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 2,244
Re: Marshall JCM 800

No its not the re issue, its about 20 years old, used to belong to a band called Blonde in the 80's from England.
Ant1981 is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-20-2005, 10:53 AM
Gex
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 962
Re: Marshall JCM 800

The old ones never had loops. (IIRC) only the reissues.

Its been modified.

I'd have a tech look at it, make sure it was done correctly.
Gex is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-20-2005, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 2,244
Re: Marshall JCM 800

no its not modified, its the split channel, and they did have loops, dunno where you got that idea from, check your resources
Ant1981 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-20-2005, 07:08 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 542
Re: Marshall JCM 800

it's a 2310..i think ...it's the one that has two channels and a loop..get a tech to hav a work over it..
Shep is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-20-2005, 08:04 PM
Gex
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 962
Re: Marshall JCM 800

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ant1981
no its not modified, its the split channel, and they did have loops, dunno where you got that idea from, check your resources

Oh! its a split channel, I see.

The old 2203's(100w) and 2204's (50w) DIDN'T have FX Loops.

The split channel amps did have FX loops.(The 100w version was the 2210, the 50w version was the 2205)
Gex is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-20-2005, 08:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 197
Re: Marshall JCM 800

probably a bad preamp tube.??... i think the effects loop is probably in the tube path
honky_tonk is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-20-2005, 08:38 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Adams, MA
Posts: 2,641
Re: Marshall JCM 800

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gex
The old ones never had loops. (IIRC) only the reissues.

Its been modified.

I'd have a tech look at it, make sure it was done correctly.
Didn't the later models, the 2205 and 2210 have an effects loop? I think they did but I am not sure - I keep forgetting.


Edit: I've been beaten!

But yeah I would take that to a tech. Could have a bad capacitor or something that is not getting power and making noise.

Last edited by red5; 12-20-2005 at 08:44 PM.
red5 is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-21-2005, 12:31 AM
Gex
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 962
Re: Marshall JCM 800

Quote:
Originally Posted by honky_tonk
probably a bad preamp tube.??... i think the effects loop is probably in the tube path

This is also what I was thinking.

Id rotate the tubes around, or replace them if youve got some extras. (or "Borrow" the ones from your JCM 900 real quick, just to see if thats the problem)
Gex is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-21-2005, 12:58 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 422
Re: Marshall JCM 800

If nothing else works, just get a good noise gate and put it in the loop, that'll quiet it down nicely.
Praetorian is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-21-2005, 01:16 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 2,244
Re: Marshall JCM 800

Maybe I should get it re vavled, wish I knew how to bias it myself, I could do it, being an electrician i've got the sense to do it, just need to know what to do to the amp.
Ant1981 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-21-2005, 03:23 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Adams, MA
Posts: 2,641
Re: Marshall JCM 800

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gex
This is also what I was thinking.

Id rotate the tubes around, or replace them if youve got some extras. (or "Borrow" the ones from your JCM 900 real quick, just to see if thats the problem)
The effects loop on Marshalls has always been solid state.
red5 is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-21-2005, 11:45 PM
Gex
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 962
Re: Marshall JCM 800

Hmm, than that probably isnt the problem!

Taking it to a tech sounds like a good idea
Gex is offline  
Reply

Tags
preamp tube

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Boogie Triaxis, Marshall JMP-1 Preamp, Marshall Stereo Power Amp 20/20 TheTrooper Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 3 10-22-2013 12:47 PM
1971 Marshall 1960B & 1982 Marshall Anniversary 1960A white Sevenstringer Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 6 01-27-2013 05:05 PM
Marshall 9100 Digitech Valve FX, 2x12 Marshall cabs HELP..... Ross777DVP Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 5 02-22-2012 07:36 AM
WTB Marshall 1936, Marshall 8004, ADA MC-1 cerealk Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 01-29-2010 04:40 PM
FS in UK: Marshall JMP-1 DJR Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 08-25-2009 08:46 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome