Mesa Studio Preamp - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-10-2009, 10:30 PM Thread Starter

Mesa Studio Preamp

Hi All,

Just wanted to know what you folks thought of the Mesa Studio preamp. I'm purchasing one shortly--so I thought I would come here to find any owners of one. Tonality wise, how does it compare to the Quad? Are they similiar? I've been a Boogie fan since I started playing back in the late 80s and use to play on one of these that a friend had hoooked up to his rack rig and from what I remember it was killer sounding. I'm thinking of purchasing the Peavey 50/50 power amp to go along with it since I won't have the cash to throw down for a Mesa power amp at the moment.

Any folks out here have one of these that they would like to share their interest about? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-10-2009, 11:56 PM

Reviews: 39
Re: Mesa Studio Preamp

While I have not owned a Studio pre, I have used a Quad many many times and it is more aggressive than the studio. The Quad sounds more like the Mark III than anything else id say. The Studio doesn't quite have as much gain, but comes close, you can dial in almost as much. The Quad can be a little bit thicker and more "Mark" sounding which is what it was designed to do; pretty close to the IIC+ to thick roaring III (which is what I own), and clean jazzy cleans. The Studio pre has all the beautiful cleans, but a little less gain (more close to the IIC+). Both have that Mark sharp articulation. I dont think the Studio pre can come close to the Mark IV sound though, and the Quad comes close(r). Both are fine pieces of gear with that destinctive Mesa sound.

Thats my $0.02
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-10-2009, 11:58 PM

Check out this link - Ceasar Huesca's rig

http://www.youtube.com/user/CesarHue...19/9BnAix3dEmc