Need Help/Advice for using multiple Amps.. - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-04-2007, 03:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Need Help/Advice for using multiple Amps..

Hey guy.. I am curious, I have the amp i use for my metal band home at the moment.. I tried my fender supersonic combo into it, and it sounds WICKED (into the cabinet..) Then, due to my severe case of GAS, I started thinking of using both my amps into the cabinet, (left and right)... i started trying this out a second ago and was thinking about the possibility for live... I have heard of people using 2 amps, and blending a quieter clean tone with a dirty tone to maintain clarity.. I tried this but I didn't really have a chance to do it loud, nor did i have time to really tweak.. so my main questions would be

-what is ur experience with this kind of setup
-i am using a boss chorus ensemble to split the signal, do i lose a lot of tone doing so ( this is just to test it...)
-would i run one amp clean, one dirty, and use the footswitch for the dirty amp??
-can I rig it up so i can switch both amps with only one footswitch (midi??)
-is this a bad idea with only one cabinet ( my goal is not to A/B to different amps, I want to mix the 2 to get a thicker and unique sound..)
-can u tell the difference between delivery and d'journo??

I appreciate all comments, please help me out!! I don't want the gas tank to go empty, or I'll get addicted to porn or World of Warcraft---Please help a fellow GAS'er
shogun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-04-2007, 05:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Re: Need Help/Advice for using multiple Amps..

help.......
shogun is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-04-2007, 08:17 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,205
Reviews: 12
Re: Need Help/Advice for using multiple Amps..

i'm working on a similar setup for my rack... it's 2 preamps into a single poweramp. the "connection logic" for your proposed setup sounds feasible but expenses will range depending what goes in the chain and where the signal is going before it is amplified but it looks like you'll need a switching system and/or mixer.

Quote:
-what is ur experience with this kind of setup
i'll let ya know in 6 months :P

Quote:
-i am using a boss chorus ensemble to split the signal, do i lose a lot of tone doing so ( this is just to test it...)
if the fx does not have "true bypass", tone can be affected. I'd place the chorus somewhere in the FX loop. To split the signal to feed 2 amps at the same time, you can try:
a) buffered splitter
b) ABY switch
c) a long Y cable

that's only the beginning...

Quote:
-would i run one amp clean, one dirty, and use the footswitch for the dirty amp??
clean amp can be disabled / enabled in conjunction with dirty amp disabled / enabled... depending on the midi switching system used.

Quote:
-can I rig it up so i can switch both amps with only one footswitch (midi??)
sure... depending on the amount of relays available on the midi switching system, it can range from 2 mono relays to 4 stereo relays or a combination (unless you get it custom).

Quote:
-is this a bad idea with only one cabinet ( my goal is not to A/B to different amps, I want to mix the 2 to get a thicker and unique sound..)
not a bad idea... I think the mixer will be in the FX loop and have the mixer's L output to amp1 return + mixer's R output to amp2 return. dunno if it'll work but it might be simpler if each amp had it's own cabinet however just to avoid a costly and more complex setup....

Quote:
-can u tell the difference between delivery and d'journo??
sure... one doesn't come with philly cheesesteak

GAS can be a pita if ya don't know how to diagram your signal path first. You'll end up buying gear that doesn't maximize your setup's capabilities. I'd start off simple first (guitar -> amp1 + amp2) then expand and explore from there. I'd also start researching the manuals for the equipment that'll be placed in the chain.
Enjoy your experiments and share your experience. Feel free to PM me if you need help in gear recommendations.

Reg
reguv760 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-05-2007, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Re: Need Help/Advice for using multiple Amps..

your advice is well appreciated!
shogun is offline  
Reply

Tags
boss chorus , clean tone

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Jemsite guide to amps Mr Orange Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 123 04-06-2016 01:27 PM
Car Audio Amps vs. Guitar Amps Jeff Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 8 09-01-2003 07:47 AM
Amps amps amps Grev Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 10 02-22-2003 01:18 AM
Review of my Voodoo Amps Modded TSL-100 Gresh Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 7 01-05-2003 09:08 PM
Amps, amps and more amps... - Suggestions...there are too ma carlos seo Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 05-17-2001 01:53 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome