Need help coming up with a very portable rig - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-28-2009, 01:51 PM Thread Starter

Need help coming up with a very portable rig

So, as some of you probably know, I'm a student at Berklee in Boston. I'm using a Boogie Lonestar 1x12, which is the same size as their 2x12, and it weighs 72 lbs. I just got a custom case built by Brady Burton (AMAZING customer service...he'll literally build you any case you want. Bradycases.com), and it's also a honker. I absolutely love my tone, but I'm beginning to think it's not worth it because of the size and weight. Any gig I might have (I'm a freshman, so I don't know) will be a real pain, because I'll have to fit the amp into the back of a taxi, or if it's close, roll my amp there. If I'm not doing gigs, I can't use it in my room because it's too loud and they tend to be a little finicky about you playing in the rooms anyway. I don't want to sell the amp because it just sounds too great, but I would like to put together a more portable rig.
I play fusion and modern jazz, like Wayne Krantz, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Shawn Lane...etc. I'm a big funk guy, so I need a great clean preferably with a Scofield/Charlie Hunter-like break up. And that's the problem...you can only get that with a tube amp. In terms of overdrive, I like a thick, syrupy, smooth lead tone, but too high gain. Similar to Eric Johnson's and Shawn Lane's.
I'm thinking of sacrificing the clean break up and going with a solid state amp because it would be much lighter and I could get more volume out of a smaller amp. For overdrive I'll use a tube pedal, because you really can't get a good lead tone without tubes.
So the reason I'm writing this post is to get suggestions on amps and pedals. Fire away!
Smitty
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-28-2009, 03:19 PM