New to Tubes, need to build a rig - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-22-2017, 01:34 AM Thread Starter

New to Tubes, need to build a rig

Hey there. I have been playing guitar for about 19 years. Really gotten back into this year after taking a good break for about 10 years. I played all the while but never done much educating or learning anything new. Anyway, Im prepping for a metal band and got most of the songs down but my 2X12 solid state amp wasnt cutting it for me so I decided to go with a good tube setup.

I purchased a 5150iii 50w head. I plan on purchasing 2 1X12 Orange cabs simply because there easier to transport than a 2X12. Now the dilemma im having is whether to go Rack or Pedals. It seems most people are pointing me into rackmounts and I like that idea the only thing is I have no familiarity with them so I need some help in knowing what I need to get this going.

In terms of effects I dont use much. I basically want GAIN and lots of it My 5150 gives me that. Were playing metal so thats pretty much all I require at the moment. For those of you who are familiar with that head you know it gives alot of noise from the gain so I deffinetly need a noise gate. Im pretty much sold on the Decimator Pro Rack G. I tried the Decimator 2 pedal in my effects loop and it worked quite well so I trust the product.

Also, do these hook into the head through the effects loop ?

What else do I need in a rack. I read about Power Conditioners. Maybe a tuner. An EQ ? A friend of mine built his own rack cab and it turned out great so I can get him to build a nice cab to save some cash .

I noticed some people put there head right in there racks. Is that OK to do with a Tube head in terms of heat ? Or should the rack have a fan in there somewhere.