Newbie here, need help with gear - Is this all that I need? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-18-2001, 02:50 PM Thread Starter

Newbie here, need help with gear - Is this all that I need?

First off, I just want to say Hi to everybody. *My name is Chris, and I'm a 20 year old music education major from the land of Lincoln. *I've been playing guitar for about 7 years, and my main axes are a Ibanez Jem LNG #54, an Epiphone Les Paul that I absolutely adore, and an acoustic BC Rich Warlock. *Anyways, back to why I posted in the gear section...

I've been playing through a Peavey Bandit 112 transtube combo amp for the past 6 years, and using a Boss GT-3 for fx, and I need a change. *I have always thought that good distortion came from objects outside the amp, and have now realized that good tube distortion is for me. *I'm into Satriani, Vai, and Petrucci, just like the rest of you, and I was curious is I could get a good hybrid tone out of a Triaxis preamp with a simul 2:90 power amp. *I want something versitile, so that I can get a good "clean" distortion, if you know what I mean. *I'd like to stay away from the modeling amps/units and go with some real tube power. *Would the Triaxis and 2:90 be a good start to a good "flexible" rig? *

Not sure if this all made sense, but I appreciate any feedback

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-18-2001, 03:04 PM

Newbie here, need help with gear

First of all, I want to welcome you to the site!!!! *
Secondly, I really can't offer advice on tube or mesa anything, cuz I hate tube amps, and I hate Mesa Boogie gear LOL, well, everyone here will likely think I'm insane, but oh well, it's the way it goes.
Anyway, welcome to the site, I hope you enjoy yourself!!!!
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-18-2001, 04:13 PM

hey! welcome!