Overdrive pedal for boosting solid state/digital amps? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2008, 07:38 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 56
Overdrive pedal for boosting solid state/digital amps?

can anybody recommend any booster/overdrive pedal that i can use to to boost solid state/digital amps to make the sound fatter/thicker without any loss of low end?

thanks
vejiita is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2008, 10:30 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: LR, AR
Posts: 1,982
Re: Overdrive pedal for boosting solid state/digital amps?

the fulltone fulldrive.


rich
rty13ibz98 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2008, 12:03 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Re: Overdrive pedal for boosting solid state/digital amps?

http://www.jemsite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=74529
shogun is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-07-2008, 03:27 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,687
Re: Overdrive pedal for boosting solid state/digital amps?

Modeling amps should not be boosted. You will just overload their ADCs which will not have the same effect as with tubes. They simply cut the signal down to levels they can digitize.
microdmitry is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2008, 12:05 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 153
Re: Overdrive pedal for boosting solid state/digital amps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by microdmitry View Post
Modeling amps should not be boosted. You will just overload their ADCs which will not have the same effect as with tubes. They simply cut the signal down to levels they can digitize.

-Should- not be boosted?

I'm sure I'm not the only one who has gotten good results using pedals through my SS amp.

Good as tubes? No.
TheMusicBucket is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2008, 01:06 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Worcester,MA
Posts: 4,924
Re: Overdrive pedal for boosting solid state/digital amps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by microdmitry View Post
Modeling amps should not be boosted. You will just overload their ADCs which will not have the same effect as with tubes. They simply cut the signal down to levels they can digitize.
That is SO not true. I've ran many pedals in front of modeling units and it sounds great, the best was a TS-808 very clear and articulate with no color.. Granted your going to get a better result from tubes, but still, it ads life and character to digital units.
Lefty Robb is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2008, 03:07 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,687
Re: Overdrive pedal for boosting solid state/digital amps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias_ View Post
-Should- not be boosted?

I'm sure I'm not the only one who has gotten good results using pedals through my SS amp.

Good as tubes? No.
Notice I said _modeling_ amps should not be boosted. SS and modeling amps are different.
microdmitry is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2008, 03:10 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,687
Re: Overdrive pedal for boosting solid state/digital amps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lefty Robb View Post
That is SO not true. I've ran many pedals in front of modeling units and it sounds great, the best was a TS-808 very clear and articulate with no color.. Granted your going to get a better result from tubes, but still, it ads life and character to digital units.
TS-808 is not a boost. It's an overdrive. Overdrive compresses the input signal, so if you don't crank the Level knob too high (i.e. if you don't actually boost), you're only making digital conversion easier, adding some harmonics and mids.
microdmitry is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2008, 03:21 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Worcester,MA
Posts: 4,924
Re: Overdrive pedal for boosting solid state/digital amps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by microdmitry View Post
TS-808 is not a boost. It's an overdrive. Overdrive compresses the input signal, so if you don't crank the Level knob too high (i.e. if you don't actually boost), you're only making digital conversion easier, adding some harmonics and mids.
Duh, but I think he's using boost as a loose term.

All he wants to do is improve his tone, not increase volume, which I think your considering as a "boost" perhaps? TS-808 does this. But what I think he's looking for is BBE after the preamp not a pedal in front of the preamp, at least the goal of "make the sound fatter/thicker without any loss of low end" would be reached.

Last edited by Lefty Robb; 03-08-2008 at 03:27 AM.
Lefty Robb is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2008, 10:40 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 917
Re: Overdrive pedal for boosting solid state/digital amps?

I use a tube mic pre before my modeler and it makes it sounds loads better.
Mr.WizardNeck is offline  
Reply

Tags
overdrive pedal

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Jemsite guide to amps Mr Orange Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 123 04-06-2016 02:27 PM
Guitar Amps bonehead189 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 55 09-25-2005 06:28 PM
Pickups and solid state amps Fry Pickups & wiring 8 02-03-2004 02:51 PM
TUBE Vs. Solid State Amps!? DrPuls Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 23 10-28-2002 04:42 AM
I need Solid State help - A solid state man in a tube world jem7pbk Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 07-27-2001 12:43 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome