Power Conditioner - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 03:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, Vancouver
Posts: 138
Power Conditioner

Would someone please xplain to me what a power conditioner is? I know this sound stupid but I'm new to the whole rack setup thing and Im going to be making a rack out of g-system and couple of other rack procs.

Is a power condition comething that you just plug everything into so you dont have to unplug each and ever rack when not in use?
Quiksilver98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 03:59 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Worcester,MA
Posts: 4,924
Re: Power Conditioner

it is a power strip that take unregulated voltage from the wall and "conditions" it to provide a constant, regulated output which has been filtered and all that jazz, its helps to prevent noise which is common form 60 cycle outlets. It should also have a breaker/fuse in it as well to prevent against major surges. I wouldn't even think about getting anything except a Furman.
Lefty Robb is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 04:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, Vancouver
Posts: 138
Re: Power Conditioner

Thanks a lot, and to think I work for our Hydro company....
Quiksilver98 is offline  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 07:10 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Power Conditioner

Furman or Monster will do a good job, as they pretty much are the only two brands that offer products specifically geared for music and studio applications.

This is what I have in mine:




Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 07:15 PM
Moderator
 
elcid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 9,592
Re: Power Conditioner

If you decide to go with Monster, be prepared to bend over and open wide.
elcid is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 07:21 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Power Conditioner

That line conditioner was less than 200 bucks brand new. Why does everyone have the same stereotype about Monster? Bottom line, if you can't afford it, don't hate

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 09:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, Vancouver
Posts: 138
Re: Power Conditioner

Well im not made of money atm, i jsut spent 5000
Quiksilver98 is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 09:41 PM
Moderator
 
elcid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 9,592
Re: Power Conditioner

Its not a matter of affording it, its a matter of 5 years as a custom home theater installer and dealing with a lot of Monster products.
They are currently running the biggest scam since the moon landing
elcid is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, Vancouver
Posts: 138
Re: Power Conditioner

euhmmmm?
Quiksilver98 is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 10:50 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Power Conditioner

So, what exactly are you referring to Cid? I worked in high end audio/video for a number of years and I deal with anything from Monster to Transparent and the bottom line was that, as a consumer/installer/sales associate I found Monster to get the job done and it's simply never let me down. So my philosophy on this is, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Since Monster has worked for me thus far, I've kept on buying it. Although they don't make everything cable related, I'll get other stuff when I can't find something I need from them.

I was just curious to get your input on the subject

Jimmy

P.S.: Be on the lookout for a new thread I'm going to start tonight in the JS section.
jb4674 is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 10:55 PM
Moderator
 
elcid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 9,592
Re: Power Conditioner

Monster is about 90% hype. Granted, I've worked with their cables more than their power conditioners, but I will always steer customers away from Monster when possible. The price to performance ratio just isnt worth it.

I will do what I can to avoid the JS thread. Monster debates make my head hurt

Monster is the Bose of the cable world.
elcid is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 11:03 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, Vancouver
Posts: 138
Re: Power Conditioner

What we be good for me? I can only spend maybe $100-$120
Quiksilver98 is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 11:07 PM
Moderator
 
elcid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 9,592
Re: Power Conditioner

MF has Furmans for as low as $55. There are at least 3 that come in under $200 depending on what you want.
elcid is offline  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 11:07 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Power Conditioner

Furman has a nice line conditioner for about 85 buckaronies:



Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-28-2007, 03:55 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,781
Re: Power Conditioner

The voltage where I live is very variable, so I needed a voltage regulator - my Furman power conditioner shut down on me twice because of over voltage.
Much as I would have liked to buy the Furman voltage regulator they now can't sell the European variant over here anymore because of the laws on equipment containing lead (way to go EU). Anyway I bought one of these as a temporary fix:
http://www.thomann.de/gb/the_tracks_dinopower.htm
Cheap, but I've been impressed so far, so there are options other than Furman!
Algiman is offline  
Reply

Tags
furman power conditioner , rack setup

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Mint Condition Gator 6 space rack case, Furman power conditioner ibanezcollector Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 5 06-01-2007 12:24 AM
Is a power conditioner a MUST??? jpwannabe Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 11 04-16-2004 04:39 PM
AMP POWER - significance of watts mmr7 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 15 08-25-2001 07:49 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome