preamp plus solid state = ? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-11-2004, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 254
preamp plus solid state = ?

Ok here is the deal. I have been looking for a decent amp for a good metal tone but tubes are just too loud for living in an apartment. After allot of research I have rules out modeling amps because I don’t want a bunch of sounds I want a rock and metal sound only for now. I have a little Marshall 15 head and just borrowed a peavey rock master preamp. I’m running it through the clean channel. Is there anything negative about doing this? It gets me allot closer to that sound I have been on the hunt for but it’s at low levels and well basically really cheap fix for now. How long do tube preamps last? How should I hook it up?
JimmyW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-12-2004, 10:19 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 254
anyone? should i keep it or no
JimmyW is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-12-2004, 10:34 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,234
If you like the sound and it's not too noisy, go for it. There's an extra gain stage in there, but as long as there's not excessive hiss you should be OK.

One thing I like about modelers is their stability. You get a sound at low volume, it'll sound much the same at high volume through a PA. And you don't HAVE to use all the amps in a modeler; it's just no cheaper to do a "4 amp" one than a "32 amp" one. It's all down to whether you like the sounds you get or not. Some do, some don't.
JESTER700 is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-12-2004, 01:02 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 440
Donīt do that.
Mandrak is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-12-2004, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike78
Donīt do that.
do what?
JimmyW is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-12-2004, 03:15 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by JESTER700
One thing I like about modelers is their stability. You get a sound at low volume, it'll sound much the same at high volume through a PA. And you don't HAVE to use all the amps in a modeler; it's just no cheaper to do a "4 amp" one than a "32 amp" one. It's all down to whether you like the sounds you get or not. Some do, some don't.
Agreed! Especially on the bolded section, which is something no one gets.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike78
Donīt do that.
do what?
I think he means the amp thing in the main post, though I don't know for sure. Don't see why he'd say don't do it, there's no problem at all that I can see.

Mike78, can you post more?
Two hands31 is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-12-2004, 05:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 254
the sound does soound great on rythem but not for leads at all
JimmyW is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-12-2004, 08:01 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 6,200
What;s your budget like? there's some VERY low wattage tube amps out there that might do the trick for you...

-D
Drew is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-12-2004, 11:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 254
if i keep this preamp i got about 300 left for a power amp cuz the solid state doesnt mike well with the tube pre
JimmyW is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-13-2004, 12:46 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew
What;s your budget like? there's some VERY low wattage tube amps out there that might do the trick for you...

-D
Actually there is a great shortage of low wattage valve equipment what amps are you considering? 7 watts of tube is pretty loud even below 5 watts doesn't count as low wattage. To be low wattage I consider less than 2 watts sufficient!!!!

Freak
power freak is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-13-2004, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 254
who makes these low wattage ones? and how much are they?
JimmyW is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-13-2004, 02:35 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Two hands31
Quote:
Originally Posted by JESTER700
One thing I like about modelers is their stability. You get a sound at low volume, it'll sound much the same at high volume through a PA. And you don't HAVE to use all the amps in a modeler; it's just no cheaper to do a "4 amp" one than a "32 amp" one. It's all down to whether you like the sounds you get or not. Some do, some don't.
Agreed! Especially on the bolded section, which is something no one gets.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike78
Donīt do that.
do what?
I think he means the amp thing in the main post, though I don't know for sure. Don't see why he'd say don't do it, there's no problem at all that I can see.

Mike78, can you post more?



Ok.

Once I bought a JMP-1 and decided to use it with my Marshall VS100 combo. Sounded so bad; I went to the store and picked my money back; sold the VS and decided to do that with a real power-amp and cabinets.

You wonīt be able to crank the preamp level using a small combo.
Mandrak is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-13-2004, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Two hands31
Quote:
Originally Posted by JESTER700
One thing I like about modelers is their stability. You get a sound at low volume, it'll sound much the same at high volume through a PA. And you don't HAVE to use all the amps in a modeler; it's just no cheaper to do a "4 amp" one than a "32 amp" one. It's all down to whether you like the sounds you get or not. Some do, some don't.
Agreed! Especially on the bolded section, which is something no one gets.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike78
Donīt do that.
do what?
I think he means the amp thing in the main post, though I don't know for sure. Don't see why he'd say don't do it, there's no problem at all that I can see.

Mike78, can you post more?



Ok.

Once I bought a JMP-1 and decided to use it with my Marshall VS100 combo. Sounded so bad; I went to the store and picked my money back; sold the VS and decided to do that with a real power-amp and cabinets.

You wonīt be able to crank the preamp level using a small combo.

;yeah thats what i figured out im just going to return it to my friend cuz i dont like my highs sounding like glass getting scraped
JimmyW is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-14-2004, 12:10 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyW
who makes these low wattage ones? and how much are they?
I can only think of one that is the zvex nano head (I may have got the name wrong my memory is really bad!!) ost people make their own low wattage equipment

Freak
power freak is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-14-2004, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 254
that nano is a 400 dollar head!
JimmyW is offline  
Reply

Tags
low wattage tube amp , power amp , tube amp , tube amps , tube preamp

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you own a solid state amp? Myst and rain Polls 86 03-15-2015 02:00 AM
Solid State Amp - $400 carlos grijalva Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 9 12-08-2005 11:18 PM
Solid State Vaiworship Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 11-18-2001 09:09 PM
I need Solid State help - A solid state man in a tube world jem7pbk Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 07-26-2001 11:43 PM
Solid-State amp carlos seo Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 10 02-28-2001 12:54 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome