Preamp + Poweramp users - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-03-2008, 11:57 PM Thread Starter

Preamp + Poweramp users

How many of you guys use a Preamp and Power amp instead of just using a combo or head. Do you feel there are any advantages to this setup? I am always interested in alternative ideas...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-04-2008, 12:25 AM

Re: Preamp + Poweramp users

Yeah, I've been using a TriAxis / Stereo 2:90 rig for quite a few years now - I guess for me there are two big advantages to this particular rig:

1) the TriAxis stores 100 patches and can be controlled by a MIDI footcontroller

2) I play in stereo, and I love that.

Also in some ways there is a flexibility that comes with the split setup - I could try a Stereo 50/50 for a different sound, or a 20/20 for smaller gigs, the TriAxis lets me do stereo inserts between the pre-amp and power amp, and (if I could be bothered) I could actually tap into any/all of the TriAxis parameters using continuous control language from a MIDI expression pedal - try that with a Marshall JMP 100!
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-04-2008, 02:09 AM

Reviews: 12

I'm using a Mesa 2:90 poweramp with a Mesa V-twin and an Engl 530.. the V-twin's for those creamy and smooth leads and crisp cleans; advantages the Engl pre couldn't touch but for mid- to hi-gain distortion, the 530 handles. Using a switcher, I can access 7 modes: 4 on the Engl and 3 on the Mesa and I have 100 patches to store any setting I program.
As to why I dig this setup, custom tone! I also have an interest in how different preamps react to different poweramps. Plus midi control is fun. I need speakers for this unloaded 4x12 cab I have and I'll soon be playing in stereo...

Reg
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-04-2008, 02:49 AM