pro tools newb :) - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-25-2007, 01:06 PM Thread Starter

Lightbulb pro tools newb :)

alright well here is my current set up
macbook pro
m box 2 mini (just picked up)
Pro tools LE
les paul
RG550

ok so what i was wondering is their anything (peripheral or plugins) that i should look into that is almost a necessity

AND

what is the best way to start learning the software
(my background is a computer technician <geek squad>)

thanks in advance guys
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-25-2007, 06:28 PM

Reviews: 2
Re: pro tools newb :)

It all depends on budget. You can get the Waves Bundle of plug ins for around $1700. Youll need alot of processing power to run the plug ins though. I suggest to get a high end set of headphones or good monitors.

You can find decent books on pro tools everywhere but the one I suggest is written by a beta tester for Digi here in nashville. His name is J Franze and the book is called Pro Tools a-z. Hes also a sound engineer too.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-25-2007, 09:11 PM

I got my Mbox 2 Pro Factory about a week and a half ago and I love it.

Did you get the instructional DVD with your Mbox? I'd say watch that before even trying to do anything. I found some things in Pro Tools a little confusing at first (ie: the first hour) then I watched the DVD and that made it all very easy.

Don't worry about getting additional plugins and stuff immediately: There are heaps of them with Pro Tools LE to get started and it's probably best to spend a few weeks learning how the system works in general before attempting any major recording projects. After a few weeks I'd say spend spend spend and get whatever you need. I've ordered Drumkit from Hell Superior.