Protools hardrive help! - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-21-2009, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 313
Reviews: 4
Protools hardrive help!

ok
so i finally figured out i need a firewire drive not usb
i the dude in teh shop told me!
oh well
will a Glyph Portagig 800 work? it says it does, but im not completely sure

and also when i open protools LE 7 on my mac i get a thing saying Authorize
i click next and then it says i have to instal a hardware key, but i never got one?!?!?!
if i click caancel it goes to protools but i really ned to do this
thanks again guys! best forum ive ever joined!


Cam
Cam-Vai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-23-2009, 11:53 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: nashville
Posts: 787
Re: Protools hardrive help!

You may want to join the Digidesign user conference as well. Pro Tools needs a few details for audio drives(you discovered the big one already....no USB drives allowed). Glyph is a good drive but check the RPM's. Pro Tools needs 7200 rpm or faster(so those compact 5400 rpm drives are not good) The drive also needs to have an Oxford chipset(Glyph does) so you can also look at LaCie or OWC(my choice). If you are on a PC, you may need to reformat if the drive comes formatted for Mac.
albee1952 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-04-2009, 12:51 PM
 
shredmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,494
Re: Protools hardrive help!

I have LaCie and never had any issues. for any type of editing, be it audio or video especially, you can't go below 7200 rpm. I used the LaCie for remote work via laptop. I use only internal drives now at home and only backup the data to the LaCie.
shredmaster is offline  
Reply

Tags
glyph , harddrive , pro , protools , tools

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So my hardrive Eddie_UV777 Off-topic / Miscellaneous 18 12-22-2006 08:41 AM
protools or acid pro? hendrix Polls 10 06-08-2005 05:02 AM
Protools LE vs. Cubase SX plz help! Ralph khoury Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 7 02-24-2004 03:39 PM
Is ProTools for XP any good? jay ratkowski Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 05-21-2003 09:48 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome