Question about tubes - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-09-2004, 06:58 PM Thread Starter

Question about tubes

I just had a thought today, U know how tubes are just switches right? Why cant ppl just use transistors instead of em? I was thinking that the first computers used to use tubes to perform calculations, by turing either on or off, and then the transistor microchip came out which was smaller and did the same thing, so why didnt the guitar amp go the same way? Wouldnt transistors be a more reliable form of changing the current?
Oh and one more question; how come a tube e.g a switch can change/ colour the sound so much if all its doing is turning on or off? Could this effect be studied and simulated using some sort of circuitry? Sorry if im completely off the mark on this stuff as I am new to the world of tubes, and have alot of unanswer'd questions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-09-2004, 07:11 PM

the effect can be simulated, by digital modelling. They might not sound quite right just yet, but they will be able to reproduce the right tone exactly in a few years (if that). If anyone doubts this, this same situation came up with the advent of cd's. People thought they they sounded "sterile" and "lifeless" but when taking a double blind test (in comparison to vinyl records) people couldn't tell the difference.

CD's are a superiour medium to vinyl, and so will digital be to tubes. Tube "snobs" will hang to tubes just like people did with vinyl.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-09-2004, 07:47 PM

Except for the fact that one cannot attain:

A crisp, clear transistor overdrive. Theres just no such thing. Overdrive is where the tubes are simply distorting the signal they are running so hard.