REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2007, 10:31 AM Thread Starter
 
IbanezFreak777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,163
Reviews: 25
REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice

Ok I recently built myself a new computer. Its awesome and is off the hook etc...

I recently bought some Behringer studio monitor speakers, which have Digital line input. and my realtek HD audio card has a spdif output.

It all works great. Music plays through these speakers so well, the sound is awesome. I plug my Axe into the line in and can see that sound from my guitar is being recorded onto Acid pro. I can even hear the guitar during playback after I have stopped recording, but I cannot seem to hear the guitar during recording process.

What is going on. My old PC had no problems. Plug guitar into line in and pretty much use my computer as a mini Amp. This is a very important part of the recording process. Being able to hear the guitar during the actual recording.

any ideas would be great, thanks in advance if any one can shed some light
IbanezFreak777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2007, 11:13 AM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Smile Re: REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice

That's really weird that you can't monitor the recording process. I am able to do that with my GT-Pro when it's plugged into my JSX. Check the settings on Acid because it could be preventing monitoring while recording.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2007, 11:32 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 696
Reviews: 3
Re: REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb4674 View Post
Check the settings on Acid because it could be preventing monitoring while recording.

Jimmy
Thats what I was thinking.. but then there's no reason there should be an option to do that because why wouldn't you want to monitor while you are recording? There are options in cubase to turn off monitoring while record isn't enabled, but not the other way around.

Does your sound card have a software mixer? If so, there's a possibility your spdif in isn't linked to the spdif out or vice versa. I'd imagine that would cause the opposite problem to what you have, but it's a possibility so I thought I'd suggest it.

Congrats on the build BTW, I built a PC a few months ago.. the most frustrating and confusing task I've ever undertaken, but very rewarding in the end.
Wild_Child is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2007, 12:40 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 637
Re: REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild_Child View Post
[b]Thats what I was thinking.. but then there's no reason there should be an option to do that because why wouldn't you want to monitor while you are recording? There are options in cubase to turn off monitoring while record isn't enabled, but not the other way around.[b/]

Does your sound card have a software mixer? If so, there's a possibility your spdif in isn't linked to the spdif out or vice versa. I'd imagine that would cause the opposite problem to what you have, but it's a possibility so I thought I'd suggest it.

Congrats on the build BTW, I built a PC a few months ago.. the most frustrating and confusing task I've ever undertaken, but very rewarding in the end.

the option of being able to turn monitoring on and off is actually very useful. if you're micing a cab, there's no reason you'd want to monitor what you're playing cuz you can hear it live, and all that will happen is you'll get the sound coming out of your monitors also recorded, so a double record would happen, causing problems.
yoyo1299 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2007, 12:46 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 696
Reviews: 3
Re: REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo1299 View Post
the option of being able to turn monitoring on and off is actually very useful. if you're micing a cab, there's no reason you'd want to monitor what you're playing cuz you can hear it live, and all that will happen is you'll get the sound coming out of your monitors also recorded, so a double record would happen, causing problems.
I suppose I've become too used to direct recording...

Then again, when you're recording a from a mic'd cab, you'd still want to hear the sound you're recording rather than the sound in the room. You would also need to hear the rest of the track you're supposed to be recording onto! Usually in that kind of situation, you'd have the cab in an isolated room, or otherwise use headphones for monitoring.
Wild_Child is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2007, 08:53 PM Thread Starter
 
IbanezFreak777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,163
Reviews: 25
Re: REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice

Ok problem solved. Atleast for now.. For some reason line in signal is not getting sent through to the spdif output. But a standard mini jack cable from the analogue speaker output to the line in on my behringer gives me the guitars sound. Luckily these behringer speaker allow of digital input and an analogue input at the same time. These speakers are so good I can't rave about them enough. Check em out on http://www.behringer.com/MS20/index.cfm?lang=eng

They were cheap and they are the best speakers I have ever bought as far as recording music goes. 2 seperate volumes for digital and analogue which can be use at the same time, 24 bit 192 khz and digital tosslink inputs and amplified aswell all for $150 AUS thats amazing !!

Thanks for your help guys
IbanezFreak777 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2007, 09:42 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 637
Re: REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice

those speakers look REALLY nice. but MF does NOT sell them... hmmmm. they're only like $100 bucks US as well! where can i get ahold of these babies?
yoyo1299 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2007, 11:48 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice

I think z zounds has them yoyo. They also have the MS40 as well

MS20:

http://www.*******.com/item--BEHMS20


MS40:
http://www.*******.com/item--BEHMS40


Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-15-2007, 09:15 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 637
Re: REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice

yeah, i eventually found them. they look good don't they? but they seem to be really small, only like 11"
yoyo1299 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-15-2007, 01:03 PM Thread Starter
 
IbanezFreak777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,163
Reviews: 25
Re: REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice

Yeah they are small, they are near field speakers. If your going to make music on the PC, and master it yourself. these will give you a true reproduction of what the music will sound like. They don't need to be big because they are near field. They have a real big sound for their size.

My 2 cents they are worth the money even as great PC speakers. Music and cd's sound so clear from them its great...
IbanezFreak777 is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-15-2007, 01:29 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 637
Re: REALTEK HD line and spdif out ??? need some advice

i'm getting a pair ASAP!
yoyo1299 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB / SPDIF recording via POD XT or XT PRO Ralph khoury Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 02-11-2004 09:35 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome