recording help needed - recordings playback off tempo - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 01:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,069
recording help needed - recordings playback off tempo

i've got the lexicon lambda and i am using cubase le.

i am a total recording noob, help!!! I record a drum track, then guitar track, but when i play it back, the two parts are horribly out of sync.
C.Thep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 01:18 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 696
Reviews: 3
Re: recording help needed - recordings playback off tempo

Are both the tracks live audio, or is the drum track sampled with midi?

It might be an issue with your sample rate. Make sure you have configured your sound card correctly in cubase so you can use it's own ASIO drivers. Go to the set up menu in devices, and make sure it's selected under the vst options, and set the clock source to internal. Restart cubase, and see if it's solved the problem.
Wild_Child is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 01:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,069
Re: recording help needed - recordings playback off tempo

yes both are live audio


the clock source is internal, and the Lambda ASIO is selected.

i restarted it, but it is still doing the same thing.
C.Thep is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,069
Re: recording help needed - recordings playback off tempo

also, i don't know if this has any significance, i think that it might be a recording issue, rather than a playback issue because the the high points on the wave-things don't line up.

please bear with me, i am just a helpless noob
C.Thep is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 03:51 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 637
Re: recording help needed - recordings playback off tempo

do you have the tracks aligned properly? like the start of the guitar with the start of the drums?? remember, the start of the recorded track will probably not be when you started playing...
yoyo1299 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 04:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,069
Re: recording help needed - recordings playback off tempo

yes, i record over the recorded drum tracks while they are playing.
C.Thep is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-04-2007, 01:07 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 637
Re: recording help needed - recordings playback off tempo

make sure the placements of the tracks are aligned together. play one track with the other muted, then vice versa. make a note of at what time on each track the music starts. then compare notes
yoyo1299 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-16-2007, 08:06 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 325
Re: recording help needed - recordings playback off tempo

It sounds like for some bizarre reason, the sample rates of the two tracks are different.

An example would be that whatever you are recording the guitar through, is providing a 48khz feed to your sequencer which is set to 44.1. The audio is 'squashed' to fit the sample rate.

When the sequencer plays back, it plays both at the same rate in its eyes, but its resampled one track to make it slower.

If it was this, they would start at the same speed and move out.

Or are they the same speed but out of sync? What is the exact problem? If its this latter, then you are recording with latency which you need to compensate for in the control panel.

Give an exact signal chain and fuller description pls.
Jamie is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-16-2007, 10:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,069
Re: recording help needed - recordings playback off tempo

thanks again jamie, but i already got the problem fixed.

if anyone else has this problem, just make sure to set the CPU setting to a higher setting, or to whatever your computer can handle.

i have a dual processor, so i just slid it all the way up, and it works great now.
C.Thep is offline  
Reply

Tags
drum tracks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems With Scratchy/Distorted Playback After Recording. Johnny Two Tone Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 0 08-10-2007 09:27 PM
2101 Recording Advice needed CQ7String Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 1 06-23-2004 04:43 PM
RECORDING STUDIO FURNITURE and DESIGN!!!! HELP NEEDED!!! Optimus Prime Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 8 12-06-2002 11:33 PM
Need new recording setup Beavis Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 18 05-27-2002 07:47 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome