Replacing Edge trem post... help please - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-09-2007, 11:11 PM Thread Starter
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Replacing Edge trem post... help please

Who here has replaced an Edge trem post which is stuck? Mine is cracked (in the RG750) from the top to the bottom, plus there's a chunk missing out of it. I can't unlock the set screw neither. If you've removed one, how did you do it?

EDIT: Wrong section. Sorry. Can a mod please move this to the setup / tech bit. Cheers!
Dee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-09-2007, 11:29 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridge/Memphis/Nashville
Posts: 3,769
Re: Replacing Edge trem post... help please

I had this exact same thing happen before. I had to pry out the stud insert itself though. My dad took it to his shop where they used an industrial strength vise to get the post out. Obviously, the post itself was done for, but the insert was still in tact. I just popped it back in and used some superglue to fill in any gaps to secure it back in the hole.

Of course though, I had to purchase a new trem post from Rich.
waylay00 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-09-2007, 11:31 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridge/Memphis/Nashville
Posts: 3,769
Re: Replacing Edge trem post... help please

Here's the thread revolving around the aforementioned problem I had about a year ago:

http://www.jemsite.com/forums/showth...ight=trem+post
waylay00 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-09-2007, 11:38 PM Thread Starter
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Re: Replacing Edge trem post... help please

Ahhh, great stuff. Thanks Wade.
Dee is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge trem

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you replace an edge trem with a LoPro Edge? - Is it poss Cycovision Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 05-16-2009 12:22 AM
FT: Black Cosmo Lo-Pro Edge Trem for your Chrome Lo-Pro or Original Edge Trem parker_fly Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 4 02-19-2005 03:18 PM
Weird clunky edge trem, help please. track7 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 24 07-26-2002 03:26 PM
Can't get edge trem in adjustment - always too high, too low bduersch Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 11-18-2001 11:37 PM
Lo-Pro Edge Trem Level? - Does the trem need to be level wit Dean Southcombe Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 06-11-2001 09:09 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome