Roland GP-100 - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-08-2003, 06:31 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK.
Posts: 306
Roland GP-100

Thinking of getting one of these but not tried one. Anyhere have one - Beavis? - Not actually tried one and would be buying one blind so what can I expect?

What sort of tones?

Does it work best with a solidstate power amp?

How do you use yours? Any soundclips?

Thanks
Andy
strat110 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-09-2003, 03:24 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 98
Hello andy i will reply when i ahve more time i am thinking about this one and i will write a full review and try to get some sound samples on the web. Very Good unit IMHO.

How much are you looking to pay becasue they have gone down in price a bit i think.

Beavis
Beavis is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-09-2003, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK.
Posts: 306
Gp-100

Thanks Beavis, I sent you an email from the facility here on the page, hope you get it.

Andy
strat110 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-09-2003, 10:01 PM
DC
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2
I've had a GP 100 for a couple of years. I'm pretty pleased with it overall--it runs a dozen different effects at once and has lots of cool delay/harmony settings. I use it only for effects. The preamp models are pretty accurate, but they are slightly lacking in dynamics. I prefer tubes anyway. My power amp is a Mesa Boogie 20/20, but I think it would be fine with a solid state power amp.

Two negatives:
1) Some of them have a problem with the parameter/number dials. You can turn them forward, but the processor sometimes thinks you are going backward or something. So switching and adjusting things can be a pain (although it isn't complicated). Mine has this problem and it drives me nuts.

2) I think the compressor is terrible. I use a dbx 166a instead.

Other than that, I'd recommend it pretty highly I guess. Happy hunting if you decide to get one.
DC is offline  
Reply

Tags
mesa boogie , power amp , solid state power amp

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roland gk-3 JN777 Pickups & wiring 5 06-25-2007 08:32 PM
WTB: Roland VG-88 V2.0 MilkshakeFiend Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 07-30-2006 05:58 PM
Ibanez Guitars with the Roland GK2A? - New Ibanez Roland rea armindo__dias All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 5 03-07-2001 04:04 PM
Roland CD Burner for Roland Hard Disks - SCSI Options johncowan Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 01-18-2001 06:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome