spider 3/cubase problems - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-15-2012, 10:09 PM Thread Starter

spider 3/cubase problems

Hi, Im having some issues with cubase. Im a novice when it comes to recording anything. I dont need studio quality, just something to record some stuff with so the singer can listen to it.

Im currently running a line 6 spider III amp directly into the "line in" port on the back of my computer.

I can record in cubase sx 3 but when I play it back it's much quieter and it makes it virtually (bad pun) impossible to record another track over it because I cant hear what im playing over. To reiterate, ive hooked the line 6 straight into the computer, I can hear the guitar out of the speakers, I can play/record but when I play it back it is noticeably quieter than the volume of the guitar through the speakers while im not recording.

This maybe related, when I first set the input to "line in" in cubase I got this weird perpetual loop coming out of the speakers. It would just get louder and louder and never stop. I had to lower the slider in the bottom right hand corner to stop the loop. When I hover over the slider it says its "level control (output channel 1)"

Any help would be much appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-16-2012, 08:55 PM
Banned

Reviews: 98
Re: spider 3/cubase problems

That's the issue--you have the input level too low.

post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-16-2012, 09:54 PM

You need an interface at the very least to get the analog output of anything guitar related to the digital world of teh computer.
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-17-2012, 12:04 PM

Reviews: 18

Go buy a Firestudio Mobile.

Jimmy
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-28-2012, 08:09 PM Thread Starter

ok, thanks guys. In the process of getting an interface, probably a lexicon alpha.