Splitter?? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-2003, 09:48 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London/Nottingham, UK
Posts: 681
Splitter??

In reply to the 'stupid question on amps', I'm wondering what a splitter is and if they're widely avalible?

I've never seen one anywhere, but i presume they look like a Y-cable?
Does each end just go in a different amp, or is it more complicated than that?

I've always wondered how some players can go through about 4 heads at once, is this how?
Globbits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-2003, 05:38 PM
rgr
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 1,882
You can get "Y" cables, but, no, I wouldn't recommend doing that to go through 4 heads. If you do you are putting the input impedances of the 4 heads in parallel, that is not the best thing to do for a clear signal.

The common, "modern" to run multiple heads you usually have one that is the master, the signal from it's effects loop send goes out to the effects rack the signal is then split in the rack by effects, mixers, whatever and the signals are fed back to the effects loop returns of multiple heads, so only the preamp of the "master" head is used. Check out Dave's rig on www.daveweiner.com.

Roger
rgr is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-2003, 06:01 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,989
Or use an A/B box.
Two hands31 is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-2003, 09:32 PM
rgr
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 1,882
A/B only gives you one or the other, not both. If you want an ABY box make sure it's buffered if you plan on using both sides.
rgr is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-08-2003, 09:54 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgr
A/B only gives you one or the other, not both. If you want an ABY box make sure it's buffered if you plan on using both sides.
Yeah, that's what I meant :doh:
Two hands31 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










 
Similar Searches

People searched for this, also searched for these:

is coil splitter as good as single coil

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Rane SM26 Splitter Mixer LennyNero Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 09-29-2011 02:50 PM
Amp switcher, signal splitter, high-end, no-loss. Framptone Bowie Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 09-25-2008 03:48 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome