String bending and floating trems - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-22-2011, 09:05 AM Thread Starter

String bending and floating trems

Hi folks. I am new to the world of floating trems and relitively new (18 months in!) at guitar playing in general.

Recently bought an RG with the cheapy edge III bridge.

I am finding when bending strings, particularly in the higher registry, that the trem tilts forward and puts the other strings out of tune. No matter what method I employ of damping the strings above and below the one being bent, once amped up you can still hear it!

I can cleanly bend strings on my GIO with the vintage trem and my hardtail Schecter, so I don't think it is technique issue.

Any other ideas? Or is this an inherent thing with floating trems? Which may account for why I don't see any blues players using them?

Please help to put my mind at rest.

And don't laught at my gear!! Gotta start somewhere right?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-22-2011, 09:22 AM
Banned

Reviews: 64
Re: String bending and floating trems

Blues players don't use trems because......they're blues players,they're closed minds just like metal players who think a metal player should only plays metal lol

How many guitarists you see using trems?
Do you hear that problem with Vai,Satch,Malmsteen whoever?
Nope.
So obviously the problem is there.
I don't know how to fix it cause I never had that problem or any problem with trems.
Generally when I'm bending a note(s) while my left hand is bending it's mutting the others strings.It's automatic so I never payed attention to that.
And of course everytime you bend a note(s) trem will always move,it was made to do that
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-22-2011, 10:06 AM

Reviews: 25