Stupid question (asap please) - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-15-2003, 04:19 PM Thread Starter

Stupid question (asap please)

Ok I may sound REALLY stupid here but I need some help.

I have a marshall JCM2000 DSL100 and a JCM900 Cab (1960A)

the back has (2) 8 ohm outs and one 16ohm out. Which do i use? I lost the instruction manual and Im playing my first gig tomorrow and dont want to screw anything up
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-15-2003, 06:40 PM

I'm not an expert, but I think it means, that you can plug 2 cabs with an impedance (sp?) at 8 Ohms each or 2 8 ohms cabs that are connected to each other in a row, which would make the impedance of these two cabs 16 Ohms, if I remember correctly. Can anyone else help this guy out? I'm not too sure...

Fabe
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-15-2003, 08:45 PM

with the dsl100 you can have 2 cabs in stereo on 8 ohms each
or 1 cab at 16 ohms
or 1 cab at 4 ohms

i think 4 ohms is louder than 16 ohms

just remember to have the right output to input

the back has two 8 or 4 ohm outputs(use the switch to choose)
and a 16 ohm output

the cab has a 16 ohm input(which is also the 8 ohm right input)
and a 4 ohm input (also 8 ohm left)
the cab has a switch for mono or stereo
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-16-2003, 02:28 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by the third eye
with the dsl100 you can have 2 cabs in stereo on 8 ohms each
There's only one power section so no matter how many cabs you connect you will still have mono only.
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-16-2003, 03:04 AM

yeah you're right

but if you're using 2 cabs you still have to switch it to stereo on the 1960
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-18-2003, 12:31 PM