Is there a proper way to break in a CAB? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-25-2007, 10:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

I have been told by some tonejunkie's that you should break in a cabinet before cranking it.. i have been told otherwise by other experienced musicians that it is BS and that marshall used to dime amps through them to test them before shipping & selling.. what do you guys think? I have a brand new 1960A beside me, i played it a bit today at a low volume, being cautious.. i have to use it at Jam on wednesday night and we play loud.. what can i do to 'break' the speakers in before then... and is it a neccessity or just a wives tale.

-shogun
shogun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-25-2007, 10:23 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicagoland, IL.
Posts: 4,358
Reviews: 1
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

I've never hear that a cab has to be broken in. Speakers do, but just playing them will do that, all you're doing is getting the surround used to moving, so move it
bammbamm is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-25-2007, 10:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Cool Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bammbamm View Post
I've never hear that a cab has to be broken in. Speakers do, but just playing them will do that, all you're doing is getting the surround used to moving, so move it
cmon man obviously i mean the speakers >=|
should it be played at a mediocre - low volume before being cranked?
shogun is offline  
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-25-2007, 11:02 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,069
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

I don't think there is a proper way, but even if there was, it doesn't matter to me, because my speakers sound good, and they have been cranked since I got them.
C.Thep is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-26-2007, 12:23 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,049
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shogun View Post
cmon man obviously i mean the speakers >=|
should it be played at a mediocre - low volume before being cranked?
Probably the other way around... I seem to recall that there is a little bit of info about breaking in speakers on the Weber Speakers site, and they are frighteningly fanatical about speaker tone!
David McCarroll is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-26-2007, 04:58 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 352
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

Never heard of working them in before :S
But If I had to I would just work my way up volume wise, then leave em cranked for a few hrs (might be in for a long shift of playing here haha)
wallie! is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-26-2007, 05:22 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,398
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

I heard you should just max the amp out, clean, and hit chords for about 15 minutes.
dannymills is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-26-2007, 07:52 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Indy
Posts: 399
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannymills View Post
I heard you should just max the amp out, clean, and hit chords for about 15 minutes.
Lets all pray he's not married..........................
Josh_P is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-26-2007, 07:59 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 5,711
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

Good post. I've heard this too but have no clue if it is true.

I wanted to be a smarta$$ and say "with a baseball bat" but, eh - I'll leave the funny quips to Andy and Cid
screamndemon69 is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-26-2007, 08:41 AM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

Typically, cabs don't need to be "broken in", at least not that I've heard of. Most of the drivers employed for guitar cabinets are not made with the greatest materials on earth like a pair of B&W speakers would, for example.

High-end speakers, on the other hand, sometimes will need to go through a "break-in" period of 50-100 hours of normal playing (nothing loud volume wise) before they sound the way they were supposed to. Typically, audiophiles will make claims that this is something imperative for every speaker but, most speaker manufacturers will not disclose such procedures because they are not required.

I hope this helps.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #11 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-26-2007, 08:56 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 2,647
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

yeah i thought you were just suppose to crank head for a few minuets on clean .
j.arledge is offline  
post #12 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-26-2007, 09:53 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 2,612
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shogun View Post
i have been told otherwise by other experienced musicians that it is BS and that marshall used to dime amps through them to test them before shipping & selling.. what do you guys think?

-shogun
Fact is Nigel Tufnel had his Marshall cabinets "broke in" at the factory personally by Jim Marshall by going one better...... 11
jemplayer55 is offline  
post #13 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-26-2007, 10:22 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicagoland, IL.
Posts: 4,358
Reviews: 1
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shogun View Post
cmon man obviously i mean the speakers >=|
should it be played at a mediocre - low volume before being cranked?
Type what you mean.
I deal with people who say one thing but mean another all day, and unless you say what you mean, I am not going to attempt to read your mind.

This is direct from Celestion's site:

How do I break in my speakers?

Important Note! Before breaking it in it's advisable to "warm up" the speaker gently for a few minutes with low-level playing or background hum.

Break in a speaker with a fat, clean tone: turn up the power amp volume to full, and control the level with the preamp gain. Use a level that will be quite loud, but not painful in a normal size room.

Have the bass and mid up full, and the treble at least half. On your guitar, use the middle pick up position (if your guitar has more than one pick up) and play for 10-15 minutes using lots of open chords, and chunky percussive playing. This will get the cone moving, and should excite all the cone modes and get everything to settle in nicely. The speaker will continue to mature over the years, but this will get it 95% of the way to tonal perfection in the shortest time.[

Last edited by bammbamm; 06-26-2007 at 10:28 AM.
bammbamm is offline  
post #14 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-26-2007, 10:24 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,525
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

thanks for the help guys.. what i am gathering is that it is more of a finatic procedure and isnt neccessary, im going to look around on the net a bit but i think i will crank it on clean for a bit and play some country (WOOO)..

another question: as your speakers age, do they sound better, or worse.. ( i am assuming it would be debatable.) is there a preference to brand new speakers?? or are worn speakers what some people look for.. assuming that they still work fine and are not out of phase..
shogun is offline  
post #15 of 25 (permalink) Old 06-26-2007, 10:27 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicagoland, IL.
Posts: 4,358
Reviews: 1
Re: Is there a proper way to break in a CAB?

Speakers don't change phase as they age.
They either work or they don't, phasing is another issue altogether, having to do with wiring and or miking techniques.
bammbamm is offline  
Reply

Tags
clean tone , nigel tufnel , power amp , preamp gain

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is the proper way to adjust the string retainer? lunarlead Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 07-31-2006 01:34 AM
How does Vai not break strings? Fry Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 15 02-25-2004 07:24 AM
Proper way of tuning the JS? DrPuls Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 6 11-22-2002 06:46 PM
Break angles to ease string tension. Josh Blagg Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 03-26-2001 10:38 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome