tips for shure sm 57 recording - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-08-2010, 04:34 PM Thread Starter

tips for shure sm 57 recording

hey guys, how are you? Ive been a bit out of the forum because i have been very busy, but now i have some more free time so Ill be back to the forum again

I recently got a really good offer and bought a shure sm57 that I was planning to buy for some time to record guitar parts, and Im really new to this mic recording thing.
What tips could u give me to record with this mic in general, and to record specifically from my guitar amp and sometimes my acoustic guitar?

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-08-2010, 05:02 PM

Re: tips for shure sm 57 recording

Open up capsule
Remove interior parts
Replace interior parts with AKG414

:-)

Just kidding.

Although it's not the greatest choice for micing an acoustic. For the electric, it's a hit and miss depending on your amp/speakers. Start on axis at the center of the cone. Slowly move out towards the edge of the cone. Sometimes you may even want to angle the mic slightly (off axis). You'll really need to experiment with it but the SM57 is probably the most recorded mic in electric guitar history.

For the acoustic, well, one mic is really limiting. Again, experiment. Start by aiming at the sound hole. Move slightly closer to the bridge to get a brighter sound. Typically, I would use something like an AKG414 about 12 inches from the soundhole and then an SM81 aimed near the nut/headstock aimed toward the fretboard. You'll probably want to throw some compression on for the acoustic as well.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-04-2010, 05:19 AM

For micing acoustic I would recommend putting it in front of the fretboard, where the body meets the neck.
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-07-2010, 11:51 AM