Total noob with recording - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2009, 08:08 PM Thread Starter

Total noob with recording

Well I have been thinking lately how i would like to start recording some ideas and maybe laying down some tracks. My only problem is that i know literally noting about recording anything.

So what do i need to get started as far as hardware and software? Im looking to do this on a computer since stand alone units look a little more complex. I have been poking around on some websites looking at stuff to get going but i really don't know where to start. It all seems so confusing. Also I'm very poor and cant afford much, i wouldn't really want to spend more that $600. Thanks for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2009, 08:51 PM

Re: Total noob with recording

Alright, so what do you have? Mac, or PC?

If you have a PC (which you probably do), you might wanna try Cubase (Google it).

If you're running Mac, use GarageBand. Either program you can find tutorials on Youtube.

Then, you'll need an Recording Interface, which converts Analog (1/4 inch input or a low impedance) to Digital, (what the computer understands). These hook up via USB or FireWire normally. They run anywhere from 150-2000$. I suggest the Inspire 1394 if you can run Firewire.

Plug you're guitar into that interface, set a click track, press record and play you're soul out!
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-05-2009, 09:18 PM

Reviews: 18