Triaxis Settings, whatcha got? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-14-2003, 12:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicagoland, IL.
Posts: 4,355
Reviews: 1
Triaxis Settings, whatcha got?

I wanted to set up a thread for those of us with the Mesa Triaxis to share and test out patch settings. I'm looking for the heaviest chunkiest sounds I can get right now. I have some good lead tones that sing, but I have always lacked in the rhythm tone settings.
I'll post mine tonight when I'm home.

Bamm
bammbamm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-14-2003, 02:28 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 182
This is a good idea. Unfortunately, I've found that my patches sounded incredibly different with every power amp I've used. I don't know anyone else that uses a VHT 2/50/2 either. ANYWAY, this is my lead 2 red sound that I used to play most of my rhythm:

g:9 t:9 m:9 b:5.5 d:6.5 p:10 dv:7
mechanyx is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-14-2003, 07:04 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Florida
Posts: 318
setup: triaxis --> g major --> 2:90

main rhythm (i use some slight eq on the g major for just a little more edge): ld 2 yellow
g:8 t:6.5 m:4 b:6 d:6.5 p:5 dv:8

main lead (turn up master a little bit on this one): ld 2 yellow
g:8 t:7 m:4 b:5.5 d:7.5 p:4.5 dv:6

that rhythm really cuts...sometimes its too heavy...oh yea it helps to have deep and modern setting on the 2:90 for both settings...hope that helps.

ill post some totally insane crunch soon too. i like the idea of this thread...i hope everyone contributes!
chilln2music is offline  
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-17-2003, 11:05 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicagoland, IL.
Posts: 4,355
Reviews: 1
I haven't even had the chance to turn my rig on in the past couple days but with the 3 day weekend, hopefully something will give.
My rig is as follows: DCR rack crybaby into Triaxis FX send into ART SGE Mach II into Rocktron Replifex back to FX return Main outs into a Rane midi progammable 14 band stereo EQ into a Mesa 20/20 power amp-> out to speakers ( Peavy 4x12 cab with Celestions or my Mesa Studio 22 speaker)

I'll post settings later on.

Bamm
bammbamm is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-18-2003, 09:45 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Amicarelli
setup: triaxis --> g major --> 2:90

main rhythm (i use some slight eq on the g major for just a little more edge): ld 2 yellow
g:8 t:6.5 m:4 b:6 d:6.5 p:5 dv:8

main lead (turn up master a little bit on this one): ld 2 yellow
g:8 t:7 m:4 b:5.5 d:7.5 p:4.5 dv:6

that rhythm really cuts...sometimes its too heavy...oh yea it helps to have deep and modern setting on the 2:90 for both settings...hope that helps.

ill post some totally insane crunch soon too. i like the idea of this thread...i hope everyone contributes!

Just wondering,

How do you connect the Gmaj ?
Mandrak is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2003, 01:05 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Florida
Posts: 318
series...outputs from triaxis to inputs in g major to inputs on 2:90. sounds great...havnt heard a better lead tone.
chilln2music is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2003, 06:58 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Amicarelli
series...outputs from triaxis to inputs in g major to inputs on 2:90. sounds great...havnt heard a better lead tone.
Aha !!! People really donīt use the loop !


Thanks !/


Do you have a 2:90 too ?
Mandrak is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2003, 07:15 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 182
I use the loop for my noise reduction unit. I used to have my GTR 4000 in the loop but that was a phuqqin nightmare due to the levels coming from the TriAxis. I agree that fx work much better in serial before the power amp.
mechanyx is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-21-2010, 12:52 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sao Paulo
Posts: 317
Re: Triaxis Settings, whatcha got?

Clean: factory presets 4 and 5

Crunch: factory preset 9

Lead:

Mode: Lead 2 Yellow
Gain: 8.0
Treble: 5.0
Mids: 6.5
Bass: 4.5
Lead 1: 0.0
Lead 2: 7.5
Master: 4.5 or 5.5 for volume boost
Presence: 3.5
Dynamic Voice: 3.0

Last edited by Melek Taus; 12-08-2010 at 12:02 AM.
Melek Taus is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-25-2010, 07:19 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dundalk, Ireland
Posts: 286
Re: Triaxis Settings, whatcha got?

7 year old thread rises again.

But it's a decent thread all the same.
My rhythm at the moment for the classic rawk thing is:

LD2 green or sometimes yellow
Gain 8
Treble 7
Mids 2
Bass 2
LD2 Drive 2
Presence 3
Dynamic Voice 0
darrenw5094 is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-26-2010, 04:37 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Warsaw
Posts: 275
Re: Triaxis Settings, whatcha got?

darrenw5094 - that's incredible. so many people set their rigs this way, but somehow my unit sounds like paper thin buzzsaw with an EQ like yours

triaxis - gmajor - 2:50 - recto 412
the TC is in teh loop. I don't want it to AD/DA tone all the time. i don't use many fx anyway.

settings for LD2G:
G6.5 /T5 /M5 /B5.5 /DRV4 /Master 4.5 /P4 /DV4

settings for LD1R:
G5.5 / T6 /M7 /B8 /DRV5 /Master 5 /P4 /DV0
LowYaw is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-26-2010, 07:51 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dundalk, Ireland
Posts: 286
Re: Triaxis Settings, whatcha got?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LowYaw View Post
darrenw5094 - that's incredible. so many people set their rigs this way, but somehow my unit sounds like paper thin buzzsaw with an EQ like yours

triaxis - gmajor - 2:50 - recto 412
the TC is in teh loop. I don't want it to AD/DA tone all the time. i don't use many fx anyway.

settings for LD2G:
G6.5 /T5 /M5 /B5.5 /DRV4 /Master 4.5 /P4 /DV4

settings for LD1R:
G5.5 / T6 /M7 /B8 /DRV5 /Master 5 /P4 /DV0
Thanks for the info. I guess in the USA, lots of bass is the norm, but i play more classic rock type stuff. I have noticed that with different guitars, the tone from the Triaxis is drastically different.

I will try your settings to compare. I am glad that this thread was bumped.
darrenw5094 is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-07-2010, 11:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sao Paulo
Posts: 317
Re: Triaxis Settings, whatcha got?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darrenw5094 View Post
I have noticed that with different guitars, the tone from the Triaxis is drastically different.
I sold a Tone Zone and Air Norton because of that! Everything's good with Evolutions now. My idea is to switch between guitars without having to move to another bank with reduced bass/mid settings.
Melek Taus is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-08-2010, 09:42 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Warsaw
Posts: 275
Re: Triaxis Settings, whatcha got?

what was wrong with AN - TZ? i just got this combo (it's en route as we speak) and your comment made me worry
LowYaw is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-08-2010, 07:08 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sao Paulo
Posts: 317
Re: Triaxis Settings, whatcha got?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LowYaw View Post
what was wrong with AN - TZ? i just got this combo (it's en route as we speak) and your comment made me worry
Absolutely nothing, but my 8570 sounded nothing like my guitars with basswood body and evos. So in order to keep the same presets when switching guitars, I decided to sell the TZ/AN combo and put Evos in the JC.
Melek Taus is offline  
Reply

Tags
mesa triaxis , power amp

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JSX Clean Channel settings - Joe's settings? Toadfish Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 6 02-11-2009 04:25 AM
Whatcha call this thing?? TKO Ken Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 10 01-11-2009 06:29 PM
JSX Settings quiksilverdew Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 05-24-2007 08:17 PM
Tried a RoadKing and a TriAxis today. Need TriAxis settings! Kremlin Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 10 05-29-2002 07:34 PM
Genz-Benz G-Flex 212 cab - Whatcha think? revsharp777 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 06-22-2001 04:20 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome