Upgrading A Computer - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-25-2011, 04:07 PM Thread Starter

Upgrading A Computer

Hey, Folks.

I have a old eMachines W2828 computer that I am going to gut out soon and use the case for a new build. Now I am very new at this and had only a few classes at school in regards to computer hardware.

I just want to get the computer to where it can handle programs like Pro Tools. What sort of specs should I get? I am planning on getting a Intel core I7 and a 2TB hard drive.

Hard Drive
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...u=TSD-2000EARS

Core Processor -
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...u=TSD-2000EARS

Other specs I am not aware of at this time. Feel free to shout out any suggestions.

Also, what are the odds of installing the new Mac OS on this PC? I know they're capable of doing that but I'm not how to do that. I'll read up on it as it gets closer. Right now, I'm just pricing everything.

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 08-25-2011, 04:21 PM

Reviews: 59
Re: Upgrading A Computer

The first and foremost question will be, what are you going to do with this computer? If it's strictly going to be a recording machine, you are already way above spec for what you would need in terms of processor speed. Most DAW's, unless you plan on doing video editing, really won't need that much. Also, what are you going to use for an interface, your bottleneck will be the transfer and write speed to your harddrive from the interface much more often than it will be your processor. If you're looking to use it as an everyday computer or for gaming, that will change the kinds of things you "need."