Upgrading Memory. - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 12:29 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 399
Upgrading Memory. [Resovled] =]

I need to upgrade my ram to 2gb.
my motherboard is a MSI 661FM3-V
would I have any problems with any of these 2 rams.

http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/...ducts_id=19052

or

http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/...ducts_id=23471

they should work fine yeh?

Last edited by chopvai; 10-22-2007 at 10:10 PM.
chopvai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 02:30 AM
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Re: Upgrading Memory.

As far as I know, your board uses DDR memory, not DDR2. Go for PC3200 (DDR400) RAM.

Here's some RAM that will work (but you'll need 2 x 1GB sticks):

http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/...ducts_id=19058

^^ Corsair Value Select is decent, reliable stuff.

How old is your motherboard, btw?

Last edited by Dee; 10-22-2007 at 02:39 AM.
Dee is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 02:56 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 399
Re: Upgrading Memory.

I'm not sure exactly how long ago these motherboards came out, but I've had it for about a year or so running 1GB of ram.
chopvai is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 08:18 AM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Upgrading Memory.

Go to www.crucial.com and use their wizard to find out what kind of memory your board can accept.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 11:04 AM
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Re: Upgrading Memory.

I have already looked the board up. It takes DDR. The 661FM3-V, a Micro ATX board, was being reviewed in mid 2005, so it's a few years old now. You don't need Crucial's wizard to find memory when you have people like me around here, and without trying to blow my trumpet too hard, I posses a lot of knowledge about PC's.


Again, you need DDR400 (aka PC3200) memory.

EDIT: Here's a link to the board on MSI's website

Quote:
Special Features
9.61 in.(L) x 7.68 in.(W); Micro-ATX
2 DIMMs w/ DDR400 upto 2GB
1 AGP 8X; 2 PCI; 8 USB
6 Ch. Audio; 10/100 LAN; SATA; ATA133
Built-in Real 256 bit 2D/3D graphics engine upto 128MB with total system memory 256MB or above
Live Update; Fuzzy Logic; PC Alert

Last edited by Dee; 10-22-2007 at 11:19 AM.
Dee is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 01:23 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Smile Re: Upgrading Memory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dee View Post
You don't need Crucial's wizard to find memory when you have people like me around here, and without trying to blow my trumpet too hard, I posses a lot of knowledge about PC's.


Again, you need DDR400 (aka PC3200) memory.

EDIT: Here's a link to the board on MSI's website
That was a loud trumpet horn Dee. Whether your knowledge of PC's is vast, it's completely irrelevant. I was just giving the guy an extra option to lookup his memory info.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 01:34 PM
site founder 0% owner
 
jemsite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 11,479
Reviews: 1
Re: Upgrading Memory.

do the crucial scan like JB said as it will also tell you teh currently installed RAM and how many sockets are open.

then find the cheapest lifetime warranty RAM you can find. the brand is pretty much irrelevant... glen
jemsite is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 01:43 PM
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Re: Upgrading Memory.

Pointless. He's just gonna find out I was correct anyway. The brand is NOT irrelevant. Some brands are better than others, some use reliable chips and some don't.


As for lifetime warranty, you cannot go wrong with Crucial. It's what I use myself (Crucial Ballistix, 2-2-2-5 timings).


Last edited by Dee; 10-24-2007 at 02:03 PM.
Dee is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 01:55 PM
site founder 0% owner
 
jemsite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 11,479
Reviews: 1
Re: Upgrading Memory.

pointless is debating about it when the scan takes all of 30 seconds

plus he'd be foolish to limit himself to one chip you recommended but whatever... glen
jemsite is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 02:01 PM
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Re: Upgrading Memory.

I haven't recommended "one" chip, I said I use crucial myself and as far as lifetime warranty and customer service goes, I have NEVER known a more reliable company, whether it's computer parts or anything else. I actually recommended Corsair Value Select because it's available at the store he linked to in the first post and universally respected because of it's reliability. Me, I'd buy performance memory anyway, such as G.Skill, if I was buying new memory now. It's great for overclocking.

Chopvai, go ahead and do the scan. You will find out what I already told you.
Dee is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 05:25 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: LR, AR
Posts: 1,982
Re: Upgrading Memory.

i use kingston....




rich
rty13ibz98 is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2007, 10:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 399
Re: Upgrading Memory.

Cheers for your help guys!
Very much appreciated

Im thinking going with the corsair, it's the one thats available at the store, as I'm abit lazy and can't be bothered waiting for a delivery

Crucial is a very good site btw.. Thanks for recommending that one

Thanks again!!
chopvai is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










 
Similar Searches

People searched for this, also searched for these:

upgrading cpu in alienware m15x
upgrading firmware on psp from mod

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS/FT Sony Playstation 2 Slim Console, 2 memory cards, NFSU Carbon ibanezcollector Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 05-25-2007 04:05 PM
Upgrading computer parts problem AKMG Off-topic / Miscellaneous 14 08-29-2006 01:03 PM
Upgrading Rig artificial infection Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 5 05-28-2005 08:45 PM
Upgrading my pups in my PGM30 AndersPGM Pickups & wiring 3 08-16-2004 10:37 AM
Memory Guitar pawel All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 3 03-10-2003 10:51 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome