USB recording? Or XLR? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 04:27 AM Thread Starter

Question USB recording? Or XLR?

I'm a recording newbie that has been recording with a cheap mic for the last 6 months so I'm calling for an upgrade...but obviously I can't choose!

I have a rocktron chameleon DSP preamp that has XLR outputs which is the final stop in my efx chain (for now) before it goes into an amp or PC. I don't want to do mic recording so now it seems that I have 2 options to go from here.

1. Get a pro audio soundcard that takes XLR input and record with that. (can you do this?)

2. get a Pod xt, put it after the chameleon and record via USB. My only concern is that if I'm gonna use the POD just for recording it'd be a complete waste of money. But judging from reviews I may find some sounds I like on the XT which would make it....well...2 birds with one stone I guess!

If there are any other suggestions feel free to bring it up. I'm still mostly confused with the available recording options and what I can, and can't do.

thx in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 04:52 AM

Re: USB recording? Or XLR?

get podxt PRO. u'll have ****loads of tonal options and xt itself has lots of I/O. as u say that u r newbie, it will be a great learning curve for u.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-29-2005, 05:01 AM

If you want the pod just for the USB you can by a USB interface so you don't have to pay extra for all the pod stuff you might not use. Also if you do go the USB route make sure everything is USB 2.0 it is much faster, if you computers USB isn't 2.0 and your interface is you will probably have latency problems.
I really prefer to go the sound card path or at least firewire. Firewire is more expensive then USB though but it is much faster.