Use my laptop to record live music? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-17-2002, 10:13 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 81
Use my laptop to record live music?

The laptop I recently purchased was going to be used primarily for work (cad and engineering software) and games, but now I'm wondering if it could be used for recording music as well. Here are some of the specs:

Pentium 4, 1.6 Ghz processor
512 M, DDR Ram
40 G HD (24 G available)
16x cd-r drive
Crystal WDM audio

(2) USB 2.0 ports
(2) PCMCIA adapters (Texas Instruments)

IEEE 1394 Bus host controller (whatever that is...)
IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers (I have no idea what this is either!)

Microphone line in
Line in / audio in

The big question would seem to be, how could I use this machine to record music? The music will primarily be band demos and my own stuff.

It seems I would need software (n-tracks seems to be a decent place to start), but how does one get from live audio to computer? What other gear do I need? What's the signal path? How does this all hookup?

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions!
rbjammin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-17-2002, 01:21 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,215
The main piece of gear you need is some kind of audio interface. Since you already have USB 2.0 and IEEE 1394 (FireWire) ports, you have many options.

Tascam makes some nice control surface/audio interface boxes that look like mixers.

MOTU has an awesome digital audio interface for FireWire.

Those are good places to start.
darren wilson is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-17-2002, 04:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Illinoize!!
Posts: 1,418
Sounds good to me. I'd recommend getting a USB audio interface like the Aardvark USB3 or Tascam US224, and an external 7200rpm firewire drive to record the audio to.

The internal HD at 4200-5400rpm isn't fast enough. With this setup you'd be able to record 2 tracks at a time, and play back about 24.
Polaris20 is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-18-2002, 01:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 81
Thanks for the info! I'm going to wait on getting an external drive so firewire seems to no longer be an option. My older/slower desktop could record 2 tracks through the stereo line in so I'm hoping my laptop can handle the same.

Considering my soundcard isn't specifically for audio recording, would there be much difference in quality between these two setups:

Microphone-->Tascam US224-->laptop USB port

Microphone-->mixer/preamp-->stereo line out-->laptop stereo line in
rbjammin is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-18-2002, 07:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Illinoize!!
Posts: 1,418
Yeah, because the audio inputs on a laptop are not designed for the bandwidth of a high fidelity audio recording. The quality will be nowhere near as good.

Your quality is only as good as your weakest link, and the laptop's inputs are the weakest link.
Polaris20 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-18-2002, 09:50 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,215
Check out the new Digi 002 system... looks really sweet! FireWire based control surface and I/O that works with ProTools LE. Just announced today!

It's a little pricey at US$2500, but it's a full integrated system, which can probably scale nicely to a full-blown professional ProTools setup.
darren wilson is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 07:22 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Illinoize!!
Posts: 1,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by darren wilson
Check out the new Digi 002 system... looks really sweet! FireWire based control surface and I/O that works with ProTools LE. Just announced today!

It's a little pricey at US$2500, but it's a full integrated system, which can probably scale nicely to a full-blown professional ProTools setup.
$2500 is list though, hopefully retailers will scale that down a bit. I agree, it's probably the best non-PCI/cardbus solution out yet. Very cool!

Also, with the 002, you get the 32 track version of Pro Tools LE.
Polaris20 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-17-2007, 01:14 AM
tri
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Exclamation Re: Use my laptop to record live music?

hummm...what ever happened to the good old days? Im in a band now and researching (that's how I came about this site) how to make a simple live recording with my new laptop. Remember when the boom box came around with that little bitty hole for a mic and most of them handled recordings of live garage bands back then with no buzzing? Yes, I know it was a very cheap and simple recording and sounded like it to but that is all Im looking for now and that boombox is 15 years in the garbage.

I don't expect my laptop to record at studio quility just something I can record and play back. I did give the built in mics (2) a 1st time try though and it was as if someone was blowing a whisle 2 inchs away form the mic. Big Buzzzz! Is there any way to get rid of the buzz? I tried to find a mic level to turn it down but there wasn't one. The record bar that displays volume input was not in the max zone only maybe half way if that much. What can I do with out spending oodles of money on a simple present day recording? Back to the old tape deck boombox? Come'on. Don't tell me. I'll try sticking a cardboard box upside down over this laptop before I go back to tape. If that doesn't work I'll try stuffing the box with pillows (which would sound realy dull Im sure). Any second hand avice out there? Thanks.
tri is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-21-2007, 01:43 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 81
Re: Use my laptop to record live music?

Using the computer's internal soundcard or the computer's external microphone generally results in a very poor recording. I ended up using a Tascam US-122 with quite pleasant results. You could probably find a used one for a decent price.
rbjammin is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-23-2007, 06:05 AM
tri
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Re: Use my laptop to record live music?

thanks for the advice rbjamming
tri is offline  
Reply

Tags
audio interface , darren wilson

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Live Record AleTheNervo Players & Bands, Music & Sounds, Tours & Jams, Lessons & Theory! 2 11-16-2007 03:59 PM
how to record from my Pod Xt Live? choubix Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 06-11-2007 03:34 AM
How do you record your music dragsternj Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 12 10-26-2006 05:57 PM
need advice - Live music in Seattle ivan Off-topic / Miscellaneous 3 07-01-2005 02:27 PM
Using a laptop in your live rig Jeff Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 05-28-2005 05:57 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome