Using an amps effect loop? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 04:06 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 817
Using an amps effect loop?

hey board, I recently aquired a Crate Stealth All tube half stack from the 80s, seems the tubes haven't died on it yet.....anyway, I use 3 effects (chorus, echo and distortion) the amp has two channels (clean, dirty) and has 2 inputs on the back for EFFECTS LOOP, and I was wondering how can I wire this up so that I can have the clean channel amplify my distortion then use the amps foot switch to switch to the dirty channel and have that amplify the echo and chorus pedals?
ZOMB13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 07:57 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 363
Re: Using an amps effect loop?

Could you please explain the idea more clearly?
keith is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-19-2005, 11:10 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 2,244
Re: Using an amps effect loop?

The effects loop sockets are one for send and one for return, the send goes to the input of your pedals and the return to the pedals output. The effects loop will put the effect on every channel of your amp.

Don't use the distortion pedal in the effects loop, it will sounds awful. Effects loops are made specifically for chorus, delay, reverb ect for when you want to overdrive the amp, as placing these effects at the amps guitar input whilst overdriving the amp would sound horrid.

So basically, the only way you can use the pedals for what channel you want, is to switch the pedal on and off when you want it on and off.

I hope this helps.
Ant1981 is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-21-2005, 11:11 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 817
Re: Using an amps effect loop?

ooh, ok, I thought I could have those pedals turned on always, and just channel switch to use them...hmm., that killed my idea...thanks for the info..
ZOMB13 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-21-2005, 11:17 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 2,244
Re: Using an amps effect loop?

I know the Marshall TSL 100 can do that, as it has two effects loops, but I beleive your one only has one loop, as do most amps.
Ant1981 is offline  
Reply

Tags
chorus pedal , distortion pedal , foot switch , marshall tsl

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What multiefect to put in a mesa dual rectifier effect loop _FR0D0 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 03-06-2009 08:46 AM
sound loop effect richard1973 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 12 12-14-2007 02:58 PM
Effect loop send level zdtv Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 04-09-2007 08:55 PM
Legacy effect loop - possible ground loop hum? bill h Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 08-12-2001 03:05 PM
Eventide H3000 and Legacy effect loop? stevevai Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 15 12-22-2000 02:52 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome