Using a rack processor in a parallel loop?! - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-24-2010, 10:30 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
Posts: 33
Post Using a rack processor in a parallel loop?!

Hi there!

Basically I want to add effects to my setup in the form of a rack - most probably digitechs gsp1101. (used)

BUT my marshall DSl401 has a parallel efects loop and Im worried i'll get phasing issues. I want to run them so i can swap between the gsp and marshall preamps.

My local tech sys he'll changethe loop to series for about £70 (GBP)

Basically I'm not sure wether to take the risk of buying the rack if i dont know if its going to work and i dont know if with the mod done to the amp whether it will work either...

And ive looked at upgrading amps but something like a jvm combo with the marshall voicing I like and a series effects loop is SOOO expensive!

Any ideas... I may not get any problems at all I guess... is there any way of finding out?

Cheers!
wm172 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-28-2010, 11:55 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 72
Reviews: 2
Re: Using a rack processor in a parallel loop?!

I would have it changed. Re verb, chorus, etc will work but effects like trem will not work. But you can always put them in front of the amp if you buy a unit that can be hooked up with the 4-cable method.
Assumer is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-29-2010, 07:30 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 422
Re: Using a rack processor in a parallel loop?!

You can either run the mix on the FX processor on 100% and use the FX Loop mix to control the amount of effects, or the opposite - run the FX Loop mix/level at 100% and use the processors mix to control the overall mix.
littlephil is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-29-2010, 01:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
Posts: 33
Re: Using a rack processor in a parallel loop?!

Cheers for the thoughts guys. Im going to try and see if your suggestion works littlephil and if it doesn't and i get phasing issues etc i'll get it modded. Seems like a plan! thanks
wm172 is offline  
Reply

Tags
1101 , digitech , dsl401 , marshall , tc electronic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best valued Rack Guitar Processor? FarBeyond Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 05-15-2010 09:53 PM
guitar effect processor rack chopvai Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 1 08-13-2005 06:00 AM
WTS: Alesis Quadraverb 2 Rack Effects Processor toshiro Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 2 07-22-2005 06:35 PM
Rack tuner - can I put a tuner in the effects loop? - I coul djrjems Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 5 02-13-2002 09:55 PM
Oberheim GM-1000 processor - Multi effect rack thing Fluke Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 5 12-07-2001 05:36 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome