V-Amp 2 problems - help needed. - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-24-2003, 12:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Essex, UK
Posts: 3,619
V-Amp 2 problems - help needed.

Hi there.

This may sound a bit stupid but how do i connect my V-Amp 2 to my PC ?

I just wanna play it through my speakers.

And do i need 2 leads for the LINE OUT LEFT....and RIGHT ?

If someone could get back to me it would be a great help.

Thanks.
the.godfather
the.godfather is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-24-2003, 01:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,234
2 leads or just use the stereo headphone out. Should be an easy adapter/cable combo from 1/4" stereo to 1/8" stereo.
JESTER700 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-25-2003, 07:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Essex, UK
Posts: 3,619
I am pretty sure that i need a MIDI to GAMEPORT cable.

Can anyone back this up?

thanks.
the.godfather
the.godfather is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-25-2003, 09:45 AM
rfb
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by the.godfather
I am pretty sure that i need a MIDI to GAMEPORT cable.


Can anyone back this up?
Nope. You need that if you want to use the PC interface to edit sounds and so on, or to back up your patches. Just to play through and record on the PC, the midi doesn't come into it. What you probably need is a two-1/4" to one 3.5mm stereo cable (that's prbably what your soundcard has for line input).

- rfb
rfb is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-25-2003, 09:58 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Essex, UK
Posts: 3,619
Does it have to go into my soundcard or can it go straight into a PHONE or MIC socket on my speakers ?

Because as far as i am aware my speakers are plugged into my soundcard i think - but it doesnt matter i can unplug them.

And where would i get that cable from ?
the.godfather is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-25-2003, 10:47 AM
rfb
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by the.godfather
Does it have to go into my soundcard or can it go straight into a PHONE or MIC socket on my speakers ?

Because as far as i am aware my speakers are plugged into my soundcard i think - but it doesnt matter i can unplug them.
That should work, yeah.

Quote:
And where would i get that cable from ?
A music shop? I don't know, really. I know that StudioSpares sell them in the UK.

You may find it easier to get a 3.5mm stereo jack to to phono jack cable, and then some phono to 1/4" adapters. Both of those are quite readily available in Maplin's here, so you could try the equivalent wherever you are - Radio Shack, maybe?

Or you could buy a cable and some plugs and get the soldering iron out...

- rfb
rfb is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-25-2003, 10:47 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,674
You should be able to get the adapters at any electronics store...then just stick them onto your guitar cable...

You should be using this to plug into your soundcard:
http://www.trianglecables.com/35minstermal.html


As far as i know you should be plugging into the Line IN on your soundcard (speakers would be plugged to the line out wouldn't they?)
pawel is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-25-2003, 11:06 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Essex, UK
Posts: 3,619
Thanks guys for all the help.

I have just rang one of my old friends i know who is a television and hi-fi repair man, and he owes me a favour.

I told him everything you said and he said he will make me a lead with two two-1/4" and one 3.5mm socket on the other end.

I am useless with a soldering iron - he however is rather useful.

Thanks Guys.
The.godfather
the.godfather is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems With Veneer. Help needed!! Scarified_pr Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 24 09-03-2012 07:50 PM
pc problems help needed rob777vdy Off-topic / Miscellaneous 1 12-07-2008 08:05 AM
my rg3120 problems/needed adjustments Chritar All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 3 12-30-2007 09:40 PM
Problems with my RG550...help needed... Megadeth7684 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 38 01-05-2007 03:40 PM
Rg 3120 Problems. ANNOYING PROBLEMS!!!! Given to Fly All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 20 05-24-2003 01:24 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome