V-Amp 2 VS V-Amp Pro - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 06:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 917
V-Amp 2 VS V-Amp Pro

Seriously, any differences between patch switching and extra outs and ins? Same sound quallity?
Mr.WizardNeck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 10:05 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 472
Re: V-Amp 2 VS V-Amp Pro

There's a yahoo group for v-amp. You might try asking there (or searching the faq or archives for that group.)

http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/V-AMP/

I only have the v-amp2, so I can't offer a first hand comparison with the v-amp pro.
Ferrous Lepidoptera is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 917
Re: V-Amp 2 VS V-Amp Pro

Well how do you like it compared to the sounds the other guy got doing fun sweeps with the tone zone in the neck? Hey that guy. Make more with less talk although I really liked the talk at first.
Mr.WizardNeck is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 10:47 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 472
Re: V-Amp 2 VS V-Amp Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.WizardNeck
Well how do you like it compared to the sounds the other guy got doing fun sweeps with the tone zone in the neck? Hey that guy. Make more with less talk although I really liked the talk at first.
What other guy? I don't know what you're referring to.

I like the v-amp2 ok, except it's a bit noisy, and the noise seems to me like it's clipping in the signal chain somewhere along the way in a bad place. That is, on some of the high gain sounds, everything is cool, *except* there is this little niggling crackly sound that bothers me a bit when you hit the strings really hard with some of the high gain patches (e.g. 6E is my fave, and this is where it bothers me -- it's *almost* perfect, except for this.)

Some people say back off the volume on the guitar, or insert a BOSS pedal (on standby) between the guitar and the v-amp to alleviate this to "buffer" the signal. (I admit I don't know if this works or, if it works only at the cost of losing some tone).

For the price the v-amp-2 is hard to beat, so long as you know not to expect perfection from it. If you're after perfection, don't expect that. But for < $100.00, hey, there are plenty of usable sounds.

Probably you already knew about all that, as your initial question was about the v-amp2 vs. the v-amp pro. And I can't answer those types of questions, never having played with a v-amp pro.

Oh, and switching between patches causes glitches if you switch amp models. If you stay with the same amp-model, but switch settings, that is glitchless, iirc.
Ferrous Lepidoptera is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-2006, 11:28 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 917
Re: V-Amp 2 VS V-Amp Pro

Im getting the V-Amp 2 for 70 bucks canadian. I'll check that patch.
Mr.WizardNeck is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-27-2006, 04:13 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia
Posts: 313
Reviews: 1
Re: V-Amp 2 VS V-Amp Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferrous Lepidoptera
What other guy? I don't know what you're referring to.
JimmiJ, check this vid: http://www.jemsite.com/forums/showth...=ToneZone+Neck
Toto is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2006, 08:51 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 23
Re: V-Amp 2 VS V-Amp Pro

you'll have better options with v-amp pro like digital out for recording on your pc etc etc. inserts for effects. you can use it as a rack effects only.

i actually have one and im thinking of selling it,let me know
bunyok23 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-30-2006, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 917
Re: V-Amp 2 VS V-Amp Pro

Great, if only you were closer to here . Or at least in Canada. Damn customs.
Mr.WizardNeck is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-31-2006, 03:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,008
Re: V-Amp 2 VS V-Amp Pro

mm I'm very interested in a V-amp pro myself....they look killer.
Ozzdoc is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-31-2006, 11:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 917
Re: V-Amp 2 VS V-Amp Pro

They do. I might not need one because I think Im getting a Crate Stealth 100. Its a nice 100 watt tube head. Getting it for 400 after shipping.
Mr.WizardNeck is offline  
Reply

Tags
boss pedal , tone zone , tube head

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome