What do u dislike in the Creative Audigy Platinum? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-28-2004, 01:21 PM Thread Starter

What do u dislike in the Creative Audigy Platinum?

i've heard a lot of people, talking about how much they hated this card, without ever knowing what they hated exatly! anyone tried it? i've been using it for 2 years or so. i guess the only problem i am facing is that the guitar sounds thin and digital when i record at high gains using the GT3. dunno if its actually the GT3 or the card itself.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-28-2004, 01:56 PM

Re: What do u dislike in the Creative Audigy Platinum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph khoury
i've heard a lot of people, talking about how much they hated this card, without ever knowing what they hated exatly! anyone tried it? i've been using it for 2 years or so. i guess the only problem i am facing is that the guitar sounds thin and digital when i record at high gains using the GT3. dunno if its actually the GT3 or the card itself.
1. Resampling to 48k of SPDIF. Stupid. Plus, the resampler sucks.
2. Limiter on analog when you hit -6dB
3. Drivers that never completely go away...
4. The biggest hype machine of any sound card company. The above wouldn't be an issue if they were honest and sold it as a game card with very good sound (for a game card). But they sell it as pro quality; it isn't. Get a Mia, Audiophile, or similar.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-28-2004, 02:27 PM

Re: What do u dislike in the Creative Audigy Platinum?

[quote="JESTER700"]
Quote:
2. Limiter on analog when you hit -6dB
what does that mean exactly?
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-28-2004, 03:54 PM