What speaker cables are you using??? - Jemsite
Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic Gear, Equipment, and Recording discussed here. Amps, pedals, whatever.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 02-18-2003, 11:10 PM Thread Starter

What speaker cables are you using???

Hey guys,

I am considering going down the power amp and 4x12 cabinet path and I would like to know what brand/model/whatever you are using to connect your head or power amp to your cab. I am a TOTAL newbie when it comes to connecting these things... the only thing I know is that it has to be SPEAKER CABLE and nothing else that is used. Also, are the ends of the cables just normal 1/4" phone plugs or something different? Do you buy the speaker cables with these already attached or do you solder them yourself. While I am competent with a soldering iron, I don't LIKE soldering... so if you have recommendations on presoldered (if it needs it) speaker cables... please lay it on me.

Thanks,
Jeff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 02-18-2003, 11:11 PM
site founder 0% owner

Reviews: 1
use unshielded cable w/ 1/4" ends to connect a head and cab... glen
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 02-18-2003, 11:13 PM

LiveWires. Went to NY to buy´em because "speaker cables" don´t exist in Brazil...
post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 02-19-2003, 01:12 AM

I'm using monster cable,but any good quality cable should do the trick.
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 02-19-2003, 02:13 AM

Monster, monster, monster......

theyre a bit more expensive.... but how much did you spend on your rig? I got about 3 grand worth of gear in my rack and cabs, why lose all that using $10 cables?

Besides, they have the best warrenty in the biz, and it covers the gear its connected to. As the guy from the company told me, "You can hang your wife with it, we'll replace it."
post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old 02-19-2003, 09:03 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jemsite